No Regrets. Part I

Hi Friends!

So, I was all set to tell you about my adventurous weekend in Philly, including the untimely demise of a smartphone, but something better came up!

I was sitting in church yesterday morning, listening to my pastors talk about being thankful, the spirit of Thanksgiving, and how to live-truly live. This got me thinking, “what am I thankful for?” There are so many things that I can’t even begin to make a list, so I’ll just tell you about one, for which I am extremely grateful:

Being dumped. I know, you’re thinking, “what?!” But being dumped was one of the best things that has ever happened to me.

Here is the very short-handed version; it was the summer of 2009. I had been out of college for 8 months and engaged for a year and half. After I graduated, I packed up my VW Jetta and moved my entire life to Northern Virginia. I was working at a job I hated in DC. I had a few friends, but otherwise,I didn’t really know anyone outside of my fiance’s circle. I had started out living with him and his roommate, but had moved into my own place, thinking that he would be moving in when his lease ran out. I was living the dream, right?

The ex and I, right after Graduation (I had to search for this photo on Facebook because I don’t have any)

Maybe not. Nothing against my ex, he really is a good guy, but after seven and half years together, we had both changed. A lot. And honestly-even though I was deep in denial about it-we were both pretty miserable about 90% of the time. And I was a mess 110% of the time. Thinking about it now, I couldn’t really blame him for wanting out.

We had just driven back from a funeral. We got back to my apartment. He said he couldn’t do it anymore. It was over. I was dumbfounded. Broken. Needless to say, the next few months were…rough. Really rough. I remember sending him a letter in November. Basically getting everything out that I hadn’t been able to say to him.

About two weeks later, and having no reply to the letter, I saw him in the grocery store, he was standing in front of the lettuce (we lived 5 minutes from each other), I was by the melons. He turned around and went the opposite direction.

In my oh-so-cool-and-collected state (ha!) I headed him off -after being with someone for that long, you know their shopping habits-in a different section of the store. Let’s just say, I lost my cool. And ended up really embarrassing myself. I drove home in a blind rage, stewed for about an hour and called him back up to finish screaming at him. It was ugly. Looking back, I have NEVER been so mortified at my own behavior. I guess you could say that he took the breakup a lot better than I did.

That was about two years and a week ago today. Looking back, I find it hilarious. I was totally that girl. A friend of mine jokes that I threw a cantaloupe at his head, and if I had confronted him in the produce department, I probably would have…only in the heat of the moment, of course.

I know, you’re probably still wondering how this experience is something I am grateful for, click here for part 2.

7 Comments on “No Regrets. Part I”

  1. Amanda says:

    Thanks Noelle for sharing Part I…. looking forward to the rest 🙂

  2. Liz Dukette says:

    I love that you went through with this.

    I’m not going to lie though, I wish I could have seen it in person 🙂

  3. pato says:

    shoulda thrown a watermelon at him.

    pato

  4. […] The past. And more of the past. Everything happens for a reason. People come into your life for a season and […]

  5. […] ← No Regrets. Part I Back Pocket-1: Noelle-0 → November 21, 2011 […]


Leave a Reply

