Back Pocket-1: Noelle-0

So, I’m finally telling you about Philadelphia! I had a great time. It was a much needed break from work and my somewhat boredom with November in the North Country. I was craving drama and.. activity-excitement-but I think I got a little more than I had anticipated.

I drove down to Troy on a Thursday night and stayed with my favorite sisters, Daniela and Angela. We spent the evening catching up and made a late night shopping trip-just like college. The next day we were up bright and early so I could catch my bus to NYC. Now, normally, I have horrible luck with buses. They either show up late or get stuck somewhere, so I scheduled my buses an hour and a half apart… just in case… my bus was set to arrive in the city at 10:45 am. I stepped off the bus at 10:00.

Did I forget to mention that I was toting my giant red backpack? It is kind of my signature travel bag… mostly because I never plan ahead when I pack… and well..it is a giant backpack… not knowing what the weekend would bring, I overpacked. Having two and half hours to kill before my next bus, I was now rethinking this decision. I ventured into a Starbucks thinking I could find a corner and camp out with a coffee. It was packed. I had not been in such a busy Starbucks  since living in DC so I was preparing myself for an awful experience. Let me tell you, it was the best Starbucks experience I have ever had. I was so happy when I walked out that I nearly forgot I still had to entertain myself for two hours and twenty two minutes.

I decided to walk. I am newly obsessed with mapmyrun (it’s an app that allows you to track and map out your workouts) so I decided to walk. I turned the app on and just wandered around… I ended up walking about 6.5 miles… all while carrying my backpack, a giant purse and wearing my winter coat. Did I mention that I was regretting this decision? Let’s just say that was a much warmer weekend than I had anticipated.

I was getting ready to call my friend Christina when I nearly walked into her, talk about luck! Then we waited for our bus… We were due to arrive in Philly at 2:45, by the time we finally got off the train by Steph’s house, it was nearly 5:00.

It was a great weekend, I loved catching up with my college friends (Hey Steph, Pato and Tina!) and just relaxing. Saturday morning was brunch, complete with an amazing Bloody Mary. On Saturday night we went to Max Brenner’s for dinner, complete with some chocolate concoction of a drink. It was awesome and I ended up picking up some chocolatey goodness to bring home to the hubby. Then we went to get our dance on.

Did we ever! I am not typically the girl who starts the party, but when in the mood to dance, I definitely bring it.  Basically, I’m Beyonce underneath it all. No big deal. Well, yeah… kind of a big deal.  It can be a little intimidating (or scary…I don’t mind making a fool of myself!).

As the night wore on, my dancing got more and more crazy and the establishment we were in got more and more packed. It was hot and stuffy. I had the beginnings of a cold and I started to feel a bit lightheaded so I headed to the bathroom for a break from the noise and the people.

You will probably judge me for the next part of this story. I honestly didn’t think it happened to anyone in real life except for drunken idiots, but now I realize this is not the case.

Nature called while I was in the bathroom, so I answered. As I pulled my pants back up, something didn’t feel right… “Was that a splash I heard?”

I brushed my hand across my back pocket and it felt smooth…“Wait …where is my phone?!” 

I quickly turned around and glanced down. There, nestled in the bowl was my brand new cell phone. The expensive smartphone that I had gotten less than two weeks before.

“NOOOOOO!!!!!” I screamed. I scrambled to scoop it up, quickly unlocked the stall door and  ran to the sink where I disassembled my phone and was trying to dry it. I had a feeling that it was too late. I was not happy.

I put the random pieces of my phone, the battery and the cover in random pockets and headed out of the bathroom, pushing my way through the mass of people and headed back to my friends. I told them what happened and they did what any good friend would do; they laughed. A lot.

It wasn’t until a few hours later that we got back to Steph’s house. At this point, my cold had taken full force, and I was coughing and sniffling, my voice was gone, my feet were killing me and it was cold out. I had reached my “I’ve been up way to late and I am not happy about it” point.  We put my phone in rice and went to bed, I had a long day ahead of me so I was praying that my phone would be working. Rice would work, right?

It didn’t. It was too late for my poor little smartphone. In the morning I had to figure out how to get phone numbers of the friends in Troy who would pick me up and take me to my car. Thank God for me memorizing mutual friends’ phone numbers. And for Facebook. And Steph and Christina. It could have been a lot crappier of a situation.

I called Ben and told him not to worry about me, I had dropped my phone and broken it. Then we got ready to leave and headed to the bus station. As I was exiting the bus, the strap on my purse broke and it spilled all over the floor. I managed to scoop it up pretty quickly, but not before getting some evil looks from the eager college kids who I was holding up.

Once I got off the bus, I called the hubs again from Christina’s phone and let him know about what time I’d be home. He asked what happened to my phone. I said “it got wet.” In response my wonderful and loving husband burst out laughing. Then he asked “so, what kind of water did you drop it in?” 

I told him I would tell him when he got home, to which he replied “Was it the toilet?!” followed by more laughter.  I cracked a smile then told him he was a jerk and that I would see him at home. He hung up, still laughing at me.

The trip back to Albany was pretty uneventful and I managed to get back to my car without any major issues. I drove home, blasting angry girl music and singing along.

By the time I got a few exits away from my house, I was exhausted. My head was pounding, my throat was scratchy and my nose running. My whole body hurt, especially my feet, from my performance the night before. It had been a good weekend, but man, it really wiped me out! Apparently I am getting too old for this stuff.

Now, I don’t know if you’ve ever driven on the Northway before, but the last few exits are killer, it feels like they are hours apart. It’s a little maddening.

I finally pulled in my driveway, grabbed my broken purse (which held my broken phone), my giant backpack and my new boots (forgot to mention those, sorry!) and hobbled up the stairs to my apartment…but not before noticing that my shampoo had leaked onto my car seat and all over my backpack (UGH!).

I walked in, dropped everything in a heap in the middle of the floor and looked up to see Ben trying really hard not to laugh at my pathetic appearance.  We stared at each other for a minute, then he just smiled at me, walked over and scooped me up in a big hug.

He had made his famous chicken noodle soup and while I ate a giant bowl, he tasked himself with emptying out my backpack and rinsing everything that was covered in shampoo goo. Then we put my phone in rice one more time and I gave him the full details of the weekend.

Overall it was a perfect end to a pretty stellar weekend. It was nice to get away, but it’s always nice to come home to chicken noodle soup, a great big hug and a husband who is trying really hard not to laugh at your mishaps. I’d say I am a pretty lucky lady.

Leave a Reply

