A First Thanksgiving to Remember…

I know,  I know!  I am a little late in the game posting about Thanksgiving, but it’s been a bit crazy here.

As you know, it was our first married Thanksgiving, and we went big! Some may argue a bit too big, but I loved it. Per usual, Ben went from scratch and from local, most of the ingredients were from our co-op, the garden or a local organic bakery. None of that weird canned stuff for us!

We started out with some appetizers (Shrimp and homemade cocktail sauce, cheese and crackers, goat cheese, jam and fresh baguette, olives, grapes, and cottage cheese with hot sauce)… no big deal.

We probably should have limited our snackage knowing that we had such a huge meal coming... oops.

Ben ordered a 19 lb. turkey from a local farm, done in an apple cider brine-absolutely delicious. It was probably one of the best turkeys I have ever eaten. He did a roux for the gravy-none of that canned crap for us! And it only got better from there…

  

The hubs, carefully taking the turkey out of the brine bucket

I don't know how a 19 lb turkey fit in this pan, but I won't argue with the expert...

It was a beautiful bird, if I do say so myself.

We had homemade onion rolls…

Bourbon and pecan glazed sweet potatoes…

Green bean casserole-from scratch (and sans mushrooms-thank you, Ben!)…

Homemade cranberry sauce…

Mashed potatoes-with the skins…

Butternut Squash-complete with a little spice…

And Stuffing made from sour dough rye, with nuts and dried cherries…

Here’s a peak at my plate…which I was too full to finish.

And dessert-My chocolate Kahlua cake and pumpkin pie…

Dessert

Needless to say, we made WAY too much food, thank God we love leftovers! I am so thankful for my amazing husband…and his wonderful creations.

We also made an AMAZING pot pie…we called it Thanksgiving Pot Pie because it is comprised of leftovers….

It was ridiculously easy to make and puts a different twist on all those leftovers.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Your favorite pie crust (I use a flaky pastry dough recipe… ingredients are flour, butter, cream cheese and a tiny bit of sugar)

Pie Crust Process-Grated butter is the way to go!

Whatever Thanksgiving leftovers you want!

Roll out your pie crust, put it in the pan, fill it with leftovers (we used potatoes, green bean casserole, turkey, gravy and stuffing) and cover with top crust.

Thanksgiving Pie Filling...

Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 40 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

The finished product.

Yum!!! I think we just started a new tradition in our house…

I hope everyone had as much fun as we did. What were some of your favorite dishes? And do you have any quirky traditions? Let me know if you have any recipe requests!

3 Comments on “A First Thanksgiving to Remember…”

  1. Noelle! I’m so jealous of your Thanksgiving meal–It looks delicious! We had so much canned icky stuff; however, I was able to convince my aunt to make a homemade cream of chicken soup when she forgot the canned cream of mushroom (heck yes, no mushrooms!) I love your potpie idea, last year I did a Thanksgiving pizza–also delicious with all the favorites!

  2. embamford says:

    YUM! Can I get the recipe for the glazed sweet potatoes please? I think I’ve finally outgrown the marshmallow topped ones… 😦 Your leftovers pie looks awesome, and would work so well as Christmas pot pie, Easter pot pie, post-birthday pot pie… the magic is endless

  3. Thanks Ladies

    Kaitlyn, I have to give most of the credit to Ben, he did such a good job, and managed to make it look so easy! Thanksgiving Pizza sounds amazing! That may be something to try with our Christmas leftovers…

    And Em, I will talk to Ben and get it to you, I know it was super easy to make though! Today’s leftover surprise was a curry turkey salad with cilantro and grapes on rolls…the next mission is soup. I can’t wait! Also, I read your latest blog-beautiful.


Leave a Reply

