Just Because…

I am hoping that everyone’s week is going well… it’s been kind of rough for me. This weekend, I literally shopped til I dropped, almost fainting in TJ Maxx-and to think, I didn’t even get up early for Black Friday deals-I was more embarrassed than anything else… Then I spent all of Saturday cleaning and organizing our little home…only to find a leak in our ceiling.

The work week has been a long one and I am starting to think that Wednesday will get the best of me. At the moment I am trying not to drool/lisp, as I just left the dentist and I am having a heck of a hair day…but I refuse to let the little stuff get the best of me.

I realize that I am extremely blessed. This weekend, I am looking forward to a long overdue family visit-my aunt is coming up from Georgia and she is finally meeting Ben!-and decorating for Christmas. I am also lucky to have my wonderful hubs.

Now, I really hate it when people get excessively cutesy and gushy about their significant others. I find it irritating… nauseating, you get the idea.. That being said, I do it. A lot. So be warned, I am about to tell a story that may cause you to throw up in your mouth…just a little.

Ben is pretty fantastic. I don’t think anyone has ever made me laugh as hard as he does on an almost daily basis. But he’s also serious when necessary and takes extra care to let me know that he supports me in…whatever. He can drive me crazy, but for the most part he is a great husband and we don’t take ourselves too seriously, thank God.

Last Sunday we were getting ready for church, and per usual I had a horrible time getting out of bed. As a result, I was running late…which caused me to be extremely grumpy. I was in the shower and, as usual, had to fight with the faucet for a comfortable temperature, perpetuating the cycle of grumpiness. Ben was brushing his teeth and shaving,  and then he slipped out to finish getting ready.

As I was drying off, wondering how late we would be, I happened to look up and saw something that drove the grumpy completely out of me. There, on the bathroom mirror, written in the fog and steam was a note. It was so simple, but it was perfect. All it said was “I love you, Noelle.”

Needless to say, it brought an immediate smile to my face. I know, it’s corny. In my 24 years, I have never had someone write me a message on the bathroom mirror, especially not something as poetic as this. Granted, within an hour after writing this mini-love note, Ben was laughing hysterically at me for tripping over something, but it’s the thought that counts. Those four words brightened my day and have kept me going through the week.

I am the luckiest woman alive. 🙂

Close friends  lost their grandmother last night and they are hurting. Not that it makes it any easier, but she lived a long life and I know that she was so loved by her family. I want to use this post as a reminder to tell your family, you friends and your person that you love them. Even if it’s just saying it while sitting on the couch, an afternoon text message, a simple note or corny message on the bathroom mirror. Just tell them, “I love you!” 

You never know how much it will brighten their day, or make them smile while struggling with a frustrating day at work…or life in general.

Leave a Reply

