Simple Food. Good Times. Great Friends.

Hi Friends! Sorry I have been MIA for a few days… life has gotten in the way.

Anyway, it’s been a bit of a crazy week. Ben and I are finally working on the Thank-Yous for the wedding (we’ll only be sending them out a month or two late…no big deal) and we are finally turning our lovely little home into a lovely little home…and not just an apartment full of boxes. Yippeee!!!

I have been busy online shopping (I’ll tell you about that this weekend), scheming (more on that next week), catching up with good friends, making biscuits  and looking for a part time gig, to go along with my already full time gig…mostly to alleviate winter time boredom, but partly because, well, I’m broke. Aren’t we all?

I’ve been very fortunate this week to have had time to catch up with some good friends. This was ideal…especially because I have become a bit of a hermit as winter takes full effect in the North Country.

Two of my favorite people (Hi Tina and Vanessa!) came over for dinner earlier this week. Although it was nothing fancy,  I did make it classy: I put some Frank on. Mr. Sinatra holds a special place in my heart-I firmly believe that he is the ideal dinner companion, whether it be a romantic dinner or an evening with friends…or just …anytime. He’s my go-to-guy.

The food was great, too. I broke out the stemless wine glasses we received as a wedding gift (You rock, Carrie!) and the awesome Spanish red from another friend (Thank you, Liz!!!) then I sliced up a sourdough round (it was baked with rosemary and garlic from our local organic bakery).

Quick Snack/Party Food/Dinner Side: 

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • Take the slices of bread (sourdough is great, so is a nice multigrain baguette/french bread. You’re gonna want something crusty) and place them on a cookie sheet-line with parchment paper for super easy cleanup.
  • Drizzle slices with extra virgin olive oil
  • Sprinkle with your favorite herbs/spices. I used some garlic powder, cracked pepper and sea salt. Parsley or Basil would be really good as well.
  • Place in a preheated oven at 350. Broil/bake until nicely browned. If you do use the broiler, just be sure to pay extra close attention.
  • Serve hot. If you want to jazz it up, top with tomato slices (when in season, of course) or avocado.
  • You can also sprinkle/slice some cheese (Manchego or Parmesan would be glorious) on top of these before you place them in the oven. It is hot gooey deliciousness.

I love olive oil toast. Not only is it super easy to make, but it also reminds me of my days in Sevilla. I was studying abroad. Life was beautiful. I was tan… I miss those days.

This is also a bit lighter than your standard garlic bread, loaded with butter. Everyone will love it. Try it.

Anyway, I served some leftover Turkey Noodle Soup with the toast. It was wonderful. A nice hot meal, good wine and a lot of laughs. It was a great night and made me nostalgic for the days of crashing on Vanessa and Tina’s futon. And high school. But then I thought about how much I love my nice comfy bed. And how I really don’t miss the  collar that Vanessa put on her cat…I still get twitchy when I hear bells jingling. Or thinking about it. Ugh.

Moving on…

This simple dinner shows that you don’t have to go out of your way to have a good time…or good food. I love this. They loved it too…or at least that’s what they told me.

Alright kids, have a great weekend! Stay tuned for an awesome biscuit recipe, some holiday baking ideas and a great gift idea!

One Comment on “Simple Food. Good Times. Great Friends.”

  1. Liz says:

    Loves it!


Leave a Reply

