Does Marriage Make You Fat?!

Ah…being young and in love, finding that one person who doesn’t want to change you. Getting comfortable with them. It’s such a wonderful feeling. It’s even more wonderful when you marry a chef… and have a husband who constantly tells you how beautiful you are… but then… a funny thing happens.

One day, you put on your favorite jeans and are shocked to find out that they are a bit tighter than they used to be. Or when you try on your little black dress and notice that it’s a bit snug in areas that you didn’t notice before. And then you put on your favorite sweater that hugs in all the right places…only to find that it is now hugging the wrong places, too.

Welcome to the moment where you start to ask, “what the heck happened?”

I had to laugh a couple of weeks ago when Ben made me get up to go for a walk on a chilly Saturday morning. He pulled the blankets off and said, “Come on, get up! We are going to do something… I’m getting FAT!” 

He then gave his stomach a few good slaps to demonstrate….

I hate to admit it, but I have also gained some weight since getting married. Granted, it’s not an impossible amount of weight, but it’s more than I’d like. Fifteen pounds. Typing that was painful. I think it’s even more painful because I had lost 10 pounds before the wedding.

Again, it’s not a huge amount, but it’s …a lot. I know that there are a number of reasons.

1. My activity level has gone down. I am typically an active person. The months before the wedding, I was not only working my regular job, I was also working as a waitress 4-6 nights a week and in the process of moving. This may not seem like a lot but there were many nights where I literally ran my butt off. I have sweat less during a hardcore workout in 90 degree weather.

On top of the two jobs, I was also running an average of 3 miles a day… in addition to going for walks when I had a free moment.

After the wedding… I hit a wall. I decided that sleep was more important than that morning run and soon, I didn’t even bother setting my alarm any earlier than absolutely necessary. I also started working less. The restaurant is seasonal so as the season wound down, I didn’t need to be there every day. Once it closed, I was only working a desk job until a couple of weeks ago.

2. I indulged too much. I have mentioned before, I try to eat clean and I try to eat healthy, but too much of a good thing can turn into a bad thing. I am kicking myself for all of those times when I thought “this is so good… I’ll just have one more piece/bite/scoop.” Clearly, they added up. Not that I am making excuses, but I know that this partially stems from the fact that I absolutely hate wasting food. Growing up, money was tight, so you ate what you were given. It has been permanently ingrained to clean my plate. Luckily, they have this wonderful invention called Tupperware/tin foil/saran wrap that I have (slowly) gotten better about using. Let’s hope I keep remembering this.

3. The Holidays. See Reason Two. I know, blaming the holidays (Thanksgiving and Christmas!) is cliche. But seriously, I am around good food all of the time. It’s even worse during the holidays. For some reason, I thought it was okay to pig out…because it’s cold out, because I subconsciously think that I will never eat those delicious Thanksgiving/Christmas treats ever again and because I have to try everything I bake… a few times. I paid dearly for this, too. I don’t think I will be able to eat any cookies for a long time.

Luckily New Year’s Eve was a pretty good day for me food-wise and I avoided stuffing myself. I’ve been back to my food journaling ways (reminder: find me on my fitness pal! nre820) for a week or two now and am holding myself accountable for everything, including real portion sizes and water intake.

4. Winter. I started running again-and loving it!- in October but once daylight savings hit and the days got incredibly short, I basically gave up. I don’t mind running in the cold and I don’t mind running in the dark but I HATE running in a combination of the two. Being a bit low on funds at the moment, a gym membership is not in my budget, so I need to get creative.  It’s something I am working on, and it’s going to take time.

5. I stopped paying attention. This whole being newly married thing can be a bit distracting. I’ve focused on having fun and enjoying the time with my spouse, even if it is just lounging around in sweat pants all day. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but there has got to be a little bit of focus in there.  I’ve been so happy with Ben during our time together, I hadn’t noticed either one of us had gained weight.  I guess that’s why they call it “happiness weight.”

Before we got married, Ben and I were pretty active, going hiking, going for walks, running together… We are now getting back into that…slowly but surely.

6. I stopped making goals for myself. As I mentioned before, I’ve always been a pretty active person, and I’ve always had goals for myself. Most of them have not been weight related, rather, they have been fitness focused. Examples: run a 5k in under 24 minutes, bench press my weight, get through that Jazzercise routine without tripping over my feet, use a heavier set of weights, run the Army Ten Miler (done in October 2009!), you get the idea.

The last year or so, I haven’t really laid out any definite fitness goals for myself. That’s going to change. I don’t usually make definitive new year’s resolutions, but I do make goals.  One of them is as follows:

I want to do a half marathon in either April or May (depending on which race I choose). I know it’s going to be a challenge because I am going to have to train through the winter. This will mean getting up early and facing freezing January mornings. It will also mean that I am going to have to consistently increase my mileage, something I haven’t done in a couple of years.  When I officially sign up for a race, I will post the details. I’m also going to continue on my clean eating track. I want you all to hold me accountable!

With that in mind, I want to come up with a few other fitness goals for 2012. And I’ll need your help with suggestions. Feel free to post a comment with your thoughts or let me know what your goals are for the year.

In other news, I finally figured out how to add the subscribe button, so you can subscribe via email! Feel free to enter your email in order to follow me on this journey!

Oh, and also, happy new year!!!

Happy New Year!

Have a great day everyone! New post coming soon!

6 Comments on “Does Marriage Make You Fat?!”

  1. kiyakrier says:

    Oh man, relationships TOTALLY make you fat. I gained 20lbs in the years my now hubby and I were dating. We got married this June and I said I’ll be damned if I gain any more weight lol!! I joined MFP as well and am 10lbs down. Woo!

    My big fitness goal this year is to complete a Warrior Dash (5k with obstacles & mud & such) in a decent time. Races are SUCH great motivators. I don’t know how hard core you are, but you might look into trying out a Tough Mudder race. Google it. Good luck in 2012!

    • Ugh! I know… Before Ben and I got together I was in such great shape! I’ve been eyeing the Warrior Dash for some time but the Tough Mudder looks pretty wicked, too!

      Also, thanks for the mfp add!

  2. Colline says:

    It is almost as if being married gives you permission to be yourself: eat more and not worry about how thin you need to be to be attractive. Then things change again when you have your first baby ….

  3. Ashley says:

    Hefei I stumbled upon your post via Facebook. In case you were interested Sparkpeople.com is a great site for weight loss, managing weight, etc. I was using My Fitness Pal, but recently switched over. Renee (from Sage) and I are on there. If you check it out my username is subola87.

  4. […] lost 28 lbs.  After getting married, I gained some weight. A lot more weight than I wanted to. I started and stopped trying to lose weight a few times, and […]


Leave a Reply

