Hummus!

Hummus is probably one of my favorite snacks. For a brief period, when I lived by myself and didn’t feel like cooking all three meals, I ate hummus and crackers for lunch or dinner all the time. It’s something light and involves no fuss. Or dishes. I like that.

I am a big fan of hummus with crackers (I love the Kashi TLC’s) or in a veggie wrap/pita…or even just a scoop of it on a salad. It also works well as a spread on sandwiches.

I discovered that it is way cheaper to make than to buy…and you can do pretty much whatever you want with it-it’s almost impossible to screw it up.

You can even make sweet potato hummus (shout-out to Becca for introducing me to this awesome idea!)

I am a huge fan of garlic, lemon and a little spice in my hummus.

Anyway, here is how I make it, I’m not the best at measuring things out, so these are just guidelines-do what suits your tastes!

Noelle’s Hummus: 

  • 1 (16 oz.) can of chickpeas (you can also use the dry beans and soak them…I used the canned to save time)
  • a bunch of parsley-about a tbsp.
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. Tahini
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 2 tsp. Spanish Smoked Paprika-keep in mind, a little goes a long way.
  • a few dashes crushed red pepper
  • sea salt and black pepper to taste.

Open your can of chickpeas and drain.

Chop garlic and parsley.

Place all ingredients in food processor. Blend until smooth.

*Note:  I was lazy and didn’t want the extra dishes, so I used my walnut chopper and a fork to mash everything together in a large bowl, it was a bit lumpy, but I liked the added texture*

Serve with your favorite crackers, veggies or pita…or by the spoonful to your mouth.

Perfect Lunch.

If you’re having company over, drizzle with extra virgin olive oil and arrange with veggies/pita on a platter-they’ll love you forever!

Hummus should last for about a week, covered and refrigerated.

Have a great day everyone!

3 Comments on “Hummus!”

  1. Colline says:

    Looks delicious. Think I will give this recipe a try 🙂

  2. […] don’t get me wrong, these tasty little beans have always held a special place in my heart. Hummus? I love you. Salads? Not the same without this little extra. Smashed up with fresh herbs and some […]


Leave a Reply

