And Then She Did Lunges… Ouch

Yesterday turned out to be a bit more productive than I anticipated…

I started out on the wrong foot; hitting the snooze button until the last possible minute. Luckily, my husband is very understanding. He got up to make me a healthy breakfast (Oatmeal with a scoop of peanut butter and a cup of coffee-to go), packed a sensible lunch (curried vegetables and black rice) and went out to start my car. I don’t know what I would do without this man.

Anyway, it turned out to be a pretty productive day at work, but when 4:00 rolled around,  I was kicking myself for not getting up earlier in the morning to run-I knew that I wouldn’t be home until 9pm (The joys of having two jobs). In short, I was feeling frustrated and angry at myself.

My reasoning?

I can eat well until  I turn blue in the face, but that alone is not going to get me closer to that half marathon. Even if I get up and walk around the office a few more times, or park further away, it’s not going to replace that deliberate act of going for a run. The fact that I haven’t been running exercising lately is starting to wear on me.

I went to my other job and thought about how this week had been a running/exercise flop. When I got home, I made a quick dinner (Annie’s Organic Mac & Cheese-sub Greek yogurt for milk-Yum!) and continued stewing.

And then, something funny happened. I just…stopped. I went into my bedroom, put on some sweats and a t-shirt and got down on my floor. Before I knew it, I was doing crunches. Then push-ups and back extensions. I even did some squats and lunges. I ended with some leg raises. And then, I did it all again. When I finished, my legs felt shaky, I banged my knee on the last set of lunges and I was sweating. But I felt good.

Ben walked in while I was doing my last few leg raises. He was a bit surprised, but it inspired him to do some push-ups and crunches, too. God, I love this man.

Today, I am sore. Walking up and down stairs is pure torture. It’s hard to bend over and my upper body is feeling a bit tender. But it was worth it. It’s a good sore that I haven’t felt in a couple of months.

I realize that this is a very small step, but it’s still that; a step in the right direction.  I know I have a long way to go, but at least I’ve started… Finally.

What are some of the at-home exercises you do? What are some of your work-out hangups?

I’ll end with some clean eating motivation, sent to me by one of my best friends in the world (via tumblr/pinterest).

Remember this.

Until next time. And remember, you can still be My Fitness Pal. Find me, username nre820.

Leave a Reply

