Back on the Ice!

I am super excited to announce that I’m back. Back on track that is. I told you about my night of lunges (still feeling the burn from that…oy!).

The next night I was able to make up a few routines set to music-thank God for my year of Jazzercise (shout-out to Renee,  amazing instructor!). The moves consisted of boxing, kicks, crunches, some stretches and dancing like a fool. If felt good to be moving again. I only wish they had a class in the North Country. I’ve been told to try Zumba-also fun, but it’s just not the same.

Saturday, I continued my activity. I went to visit my mother and ended up lugging some heavy boxes and groceries around, playing with our 200+ lb. English Mastiff (Love Griffin!) and the kitties. I then went home, threw on my running clothes and took off for a quick 3 miles before work.

I say a “quick” three miles, but it wasn’t really. I was extremely sore, so getting myself up to pace took some time. I hate to admit it, but I even took a walk break in the middle.  In the end, the 3 miles took over 30 minutes. Not great, but I can’t complain since it was my first run in about three months. Needless to say, I have some work to do. Thank God for some upbeat tunage or I would have been in serious trouble. Confession time: I definitely listened to “Moves Like Jagger” and “Love You Like a Love Song” during this little trek. Don’t judge.

Why am I telling you this embarrassing tidbit? I’m human… it takes time and effort. This first run was rough, no doubt about it. But I’m gonna keep at it. You should, too.

Anyway, Sunday was a huge day for me. I was finally teaching Ben how to ice skate. We went to the open skate at SUNY Plattsburgh… I was super excited as I would be sharing a piece of my childhood with him and possibly starting a new activity together.

Unfortunately, the experience did not live up to expectations; We got there about 5 minutes before the open skate started. When it was our turn for rentals, they were out of our sizes. We were both stuck with skates that were at least a size too big. Not good, especially for someone who has never skated. Even worse, the blades were dull.

When we finally made it onto the ice, it was complete chaos. Tons of toddlers and little ones were pushing around little bars to help them learn, trying to run on the ice and then sliding all over the place, while their parents were… somewhere else. Teenagers were skating in groups of 5 or more, middle schoolers were playing tag (okay, this was not that obnoxious) and some people were just standing in the midst of it all. There was hardly any open space on the ice. In short, it was nuts. The ice was super rough.  I was about half way through a spin when I had to dodge an out of control 8 year old, needless to say, I fell and smashed my knees.  I fell again later, after hitting a crevice on the ice. Ben’s ankles weren’t holding up very well with the giant skates, so he went to change back into street shoes. I took a few more turns around the ice, still dodging small children, bewildered adults and unconcerned parents. I finally gave up with 10 minutes of skating left.

Now, it may just be me, but you’d think that living in a town where it is winter for about 5 months out of the year and SUNY being a big hockey school, that this skating time would be run a little better. Again, that’s just my opinion.

I know that next time I go skating, I’ll probably go to the small rink on the other end of town. We still had fun and got some quality time on the ice in, but it was a bit too crazy.  I’m happy to report that Ben was a quick learner- I was pretty impressed, all things considered. Yeah, my hubs is pretty amazing.

Anyway, the reason I am lumping this in with my activity is that ice skating is an awesome workout. It’s also tons of fun and doesn’t feel like a workout, until later. Yes, you may fall, but you just get back up. You’re in constant (low impact!) movement, using your arms, your core, and your legs. Ice skating is also great for balance. Just sayin’, give it a try!

I’m not sure what I will be doing tonight as my knees are feeling a bit rough today, in addition to   everything else. Even with the little bit of pain, I feel good. I was telling the hubs that I haven’t felt this good in a long time. I have more energy and my whole outlook has changed for the better.

Sorry for this post being a bit scattered, it was a pretty stellar weekend! I’m looking forward to hearing about your workouts, your fitness hangups, and what your favorite activity is.  Look for a new post and a possible recipe soon!

I’ll leave you with this quasi-random photo: Some of my best friends and Griffin…circa 2007, stolen from my friend Mel. How can you not love that sweet pup?!

Griffin and the Girls

PS. Another embarrassing Noelle fact: Apparently my right leg is bigger than my left. I am wearing my amazing new boots. The left zips up all the way, the right…doesn’t. Ugh. No big deal.

One Comment on “Back on the Ice!”

  1. embamford says:

    Hey, I recognise that shirt…

    Since you guys live near the mountains, what about skiing/snowshoeing? And once you get into downhill skiing, you can try ski touring…serious workout but the surroundings are so beautiful you don’t notice it at all…and it makes you love those five months of snow 🙂


Leave a Reply

