Fridge Emptying Goulash!

I have been having a lot of fun lately. Whether it be ice skating, updating my food journal, planning a workout, perusing food blogs, watching old 3rd Rock episodes with Ben, cooking/destroying my kitchen, watching Ben cook and not destroy the kitchen or working too much,  I’m having a good time. In short, 2012 has been good so far. No complaints on my end.

As you know, I go through food phases. For some reason, the last few weeks have been missing meat. It wasn’t intentional and I’m not complaining, it just worked out that we ate a lot of veggies/beans. As much as I love my veggies,  I am ready for some beefy deliciousness.

This weekend I finally had some red meat; Ben made this crazy good (and super easy!) goulash. Basically, it was a mish-mash of what we had in our fridge. It was also a one-pan meal. The best kind.

Here is what he did, I apologize for not having exact measurements …or photos, as I was just watching Ben work his magic.

Fridge Emptying Goulash

To start, Ben chopped up a couple of carrots, a tomato and 2 cloves of garlic (normally, we would add onion, too… but for some crazy reason, we were out) and threw them in the trusty iron skillet with some olive oil over medium-low to medium heat.

After a few minutes, he added a pound of (local, grass-fed) ground beef. He browned it, stirring occasionally.

Once the meat was browned, he added in some leftover tomato sauce,  maybe a cup or so?  After stirring, he put in one small can of Muir Glen (Organic) tomato paste.

For seasoning, he kept it simple; cracked pepper, onion powder (due to the lack of chopped onion), marjoram, some chili sauce (a few tbsp.) and some smokey paprika. This can be adjusted according to your own tastes.

He let everything simmer for a few minutes and added about half a can of V8-as much as I love V8 juice, I was unsure about this. Thank God I trust Ben’s judgment. 

After the V8, he gave one more stir and let it cook a little longer-covered, until the carrots were tender.

We served it over pasta with a dollop of sour cream and a few slices of Cabot pepper jack.  So good.

One Comment on “Fridge Emptying Goulash!”

  1. Liz says:

    Yummmmm…..I am a fridge emptying soup girl. If I need to get rid of it… I put it into soup 🙂


Leave a Reply

