Ricotta My Mind!

I made ricotta cheese. Yeah, put that in your spoon and eat it…. seriously, this stuff is delicious! I’m pleading with you to make this ASAP.

I used the Smitten Kitchen Ricotta Recipe. I love Deb because she makes you feel like you can conquer the world with whatever you’re making…granted this was a whole heck of a lot easier than I thought it was going to be, but her advice always helps. Plus, she reads every comment and is quick to answer reader questions and concerns. Super woman? I think so.

I didn’t have a thermometer so I ended up picking one up at the hardware store for about $8.00. It’s a meat thermometer but it works (side note: if you don’t have a thermometer, scroll down and read the comments section on the SK post, Deb gives a good description of what the milk should look like when at temperature).

I went with the 3 cups of whole milk, 1 cup of heavy cream combination and it did not disappoint. For the lemon juice, I just squeezed the juice from one lemon, so I may have had a little more, but it gave the cheese an awesome hint of zest. Heavenly. And none of those weird gums or stabilizers that they add to the store brand!

"The waiting is the hardest part"

This recipe yielded a little over a cup. We are using it for lasagna, but I seriously had to talk myself out of just eating it by itself. It would also be scrumptious with a  nice crusty bread.

The Finished Product

So basically… I will never buy ricotta again. Life changed.

One Comment on “Ricotta My Mind!”

  1. […] over pasta- I used whole wheat penne with milled flax seed. Top with Parmesan cheese…or maybe some of that homemade ricotta? Dream come […]


Leave a Reply

