And Now a Short Break for ….Tortillas!

I know, I’m supposed to be writing the second part of the Restaurant Etiquette post… but I decided to marinate a little bit longer to get into the diner’s state of mind.

So, I am going to share this easy-peasy tortilla recipe instead. Seriously. This is going on the list of “Items to never buy again!”

The best part about these tortillas? Under ten ingredients. That’s it. And all things you can pronounce!

I used this recipe. It’s from Tasty Kitchen user KGSouthernComfort. If you’re not familiar with Tasty Kitchen, it was started by Pioneer Woman, basically it’s an online forum for sharing recipes. I love it.

Spelt and Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas: 

*adapted slightly from Tasty Kitchen*

You will need:

  • 1 cup stone ground whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup spelt flour (you can usually find this at your local grocery/health food store. I typically buy Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 cup unbleached white flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder-I use the aluminum free variety.
  • 2 tbsp. ground flax seed meal (optional)
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup hot water
  • a pinch of salt (optional)

I skipped the salt but I think it would be really fun to add in some spice, I’m thinking some garlic, cracked pepper or smoky paprika…next time… 

Combine your dry ingredients.

Add olive oil and mix with your hands until mixture begins to crumb. You should have some pea and/or oat-sized pieces.

Add Hot Water and mix. It will  form a large ball.

Cover with plastic wrap… or just cover with a towel like I would…and let sit for 30 minutes.

I ended up placing mine in a Zip-lock bag and refrigerating for two days before I used it…it was fine.  

Divide the dough into twelve small balls.

Roll out one at a time on a lightly floured surface.

Cook in a hot un-greased cast iron skillet on medium-high heat. Flip when bubbles begin to form on top.

Serve warm.  And that’s it.

Sorry I didn’t get any good pictures. But it’s pretty self-explanatory.

One Comment on “And Now a Short Break for ….Tortillas!”

  1. kgh86 says:

    Noelle, I want to do a baking day with you sometime. I love the recipes that you choose to make, I’m going to make these tonight after I get my other necessities done. I can’t wait!
    🙂 Kaitlyn


Leave a Reply

