R & R…or Something Like It.

Wow, it’s hard to believe that our mini-getaway was almost three weeks ago! I guess time flies when you’re crazy busy!

So, what have I been up these last few weeks?

We successfully took our road trip to visit the fam. Ben finally met my oldest sister, which made me super happy! We also indulged in Wegmans, family time, coffee, tons of delicious food, grilling, 80 degree weather, Wegmans and more Wegmans.

Then we came back to reality. And went back to work. Le sigh.

I made these amazing cupcakes. One of Ben’s co-workers liked them so much that he hugged me. Twice.

I also made this ridiculously easy-and crazy good dip.

And then I made some more tortillas, some tasty pasta and yummy egg salad (sunflower seeds are an excellent addition. Who knew?)

Oh! I also went to a pretty awesome benefit for a friend (Hi Brenda!). It was so nice to see people come together for an outstanding cause…I even took home a fantastic (giant!) drying rack for laundry…it may take up half of my living room when it’s unfolded. And… I may have gotten third place in the karaoke contest, not too shabby!

In our down time, Ben and I have been making random trips to the co-op and grocery store,  and ordering giant crocks and sauerkraut stompers from Lehmans. No big deal.

I’ve also stumbled on a new food obsession. Spinach Smoothies. Don’t hate.

I like to mix it up, but my typical creation is this; you take a cup of milk (I’ve been experimenting with my milks, I’m currently on almond milk), a spoonful of peanut butter, half a banana (frozen works best), a couple spoonfuls of flax seed meal and a bunch of spinach, throw it all in the blender and blend til combined. Enjoy! I have also been known to use nutella instead of peanut butter or add in some kale/berries…I love it because it takes little effort to make and helps me get a nice kick of fruits/veggies in the morning.  I also LOVE the bright green color. Anyway, try it. Mix it up. It’s worth it.

Speaking of blended veggies, I  tried a few of Zee Lemon’s juice concoctions over the last week. I have to say, I was a huge fan. Head on over to her blog and check out her “take-over” posts. Pretty interesting stuff. And some great ideas.

Another concoction I came up with?

An apple-peeled, a kiwi-peeled, about a cup of broccoli, about a cup of berries and as much spinach as you can fit in the blender. Surprisingly, very good. It also has a gorgeous color. I had this for breakfast on Friday and it was one of the only times that I wasn’t starving a few hours later.

Let’s see…what else have I been up to? We spent yesterday with Ben’s best friend’s family and had a great time. Good food, great conversation and lots of relaxation. I’d say it was a win. Ben even got Preston to eat his veggies. No small feat.

I’ve also been running and going for walks. And not drinking a lot of coffee. I don’t know how I stay awake. I picked up a sweet pair of kicks and have a date with two good friends from good ol’ RSC tomorrow. Super excited!

Anyway, that’s all for now.  Are you going through any weird food phases?  Share them below!

One Comment on “R & R…or Something Like It.”

  1. Liz says:

    Yayyyy a new post! My current obsessions: Tofu, baking Vegan, green smoothies…,


Leave a Reply

