Nice Pants!

Today has been a great day…for the most part.

I only hit the snooze button three times this morning.

My husband made me coffee…right after grinding the beans. Yum.

I made it to work on time. And didn’t dump coffee on myself.

I had a jelly donut for breakfast from a local bakery and made out with hardly any powdered sugar on my face/shirt/pants/desk. I also had an awesome lunch date with Ben.

I didn’t break anything…but I did manage to get a big black streak on my shirt while messing with the plotter… 

And something else happened that I was a little hesitant to post about… for no other reason than I thought it was silly…

 On a whim, I tried on a pair of pants that I haven’t worn in… a while… let’s say, last summer, and even then… they were a little tight…okay, uncomfortably tight. So, I put them on this morning. And guess what? I didn’t have to twist or suck in or do any weird manuevers to put them on–dont judge, I know you know what I am talking about!–They just…fit. And now, here I am, wearing these pants…that didn’t fit…and now they do.

It was a surprise. Needless to say, I’ve got some extra spring in my step today. 

Truth: I haven’t actually lost a lot of weight… overall I am down about 12 lbs…8 since really starting to use My Fitness Pal. But, I am starting to see some changes-including a little more toning… and a few other people have noticed. I actually weigh less now than I did when I got married. No big deal.

As good as it feels, I’m not looking for that approval or pat on the back from others. The biggest satisfaction is knowing that I am getting stronger every day. I’m not perfect, but I have definitely made some strides. I’m able to do more and feel good doing it. I don’t huff and puff walking up stairs and I look forward to getting out and being active.

Although I am not in the best running shape-yet!-I have some 5ks lined up in the next few weeks and am ridiculously excited/anxious/nervous/beyond pumped for the Ragnar Relay in September (BTW-if you’re in the Plattsburgh area and want to join our team, hit me up.)! I’m looking forward to pushing myself even further.

I’ve got this, and if I happen to fit into an even smaller pair of pants along the way, that’s totally okay with me.

4 Comments on “Nice Pants!”

  1. Liz says:

    I’m so psyched to run with you this summer! No Big Deal or anything…xoxo

  2. 12 pounds is nothing to sneer at. Great job!


Leave a Reply

