Delicious and Dirty (Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies)

This week I felt the ill effects of over-indulgence.

Last week, Ben and I pigged out. I’m talking cheeseburgers, french fries, beer, potatoes, kielbasa,  barbecue, cheese and wine-lots of it.

Monday morning I woke up feeling a hangover of sorts from all of the ridiculous things I had consumed in the days before. I exhibited all of the following symptoms: bloating, pimples, big hair, dry mouth, big sunglasses and headaches. I felt like I was 15 again. Not pretty.

There was one thing I was craving: salad. Lots of glorious greens. I didn’t need it fancy, I just wanted vinegar and lettuce. Something to get my digestive system back on track.

It’s now Friday and I’ve eaten salad every day this week. It feels good. Wednesday was my favorite:  it was a salad of beet greens, red leaf and butter lettuce, scallions, parsley, beets and local goat cheese, topped with a mustard vinaigrette. My hubs is totally boss.

But after all that green stuff,  I needed something naughty. And I had an excuse; it was my turn to bring snack for my small group.

So I made cookies. Delicious dirty cookies.  I found some all natural dark chocolate peanut butter the other night and was dying to try it out. I’m so glad I did.

These cookies are just right. They are chewy, light and full of air-They are gluten-free. They are full of big flavors without imposing on your belly in giant cookie form. Do it to it. You’ll be the biggest hit of the party.

You’re jaw is going to hit the floor when you see the list of ingredients. Easy peasy.

I’ll have to make these again to update with photos-I was in a hurry and didn’t think about snapping a quick picture… my apologies!

(Chocolate) Peanut Butter Cookies

barely adapted from Joy the Baker

What you’ll need:

  • 1-1/4  cup Peanut Butter  (I used 1/2 cup creamy all- natural, 3/4 cup Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter)-if you are using regular peanut butter-use 1 cup, add some cocoa powder or some semi-sweet baking chocolate, melted with a splash of vanilla.
  • 1 not-quite-cup brown sugar-the darker the better!
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 scant teaspoon smoked salt (you can find this at any specialty food store or co-op-Amazing find.) OR, use some regular sea salt.
  • Bittersweet chocolate chips-a few handfuls

What to do:

Preheat oven to 350. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

Combine peanut butter and sugar (if you’re using the cocoa/baking chocolate, add this in now as well). You can use your KitchenAid or mixer, but  I just used a pastry blender.

Add baking soda and egg. Mix until well blended.

If you’re using chocolate chips and smoked salt, throw those in the bowl and mix until incorporated into the dough.

Roll into walnut sized balls (they don’t have to be perfect, perfect is boring!)  and transfer to baking sheet.

Bake for 8-10 minutes until lightly browned and cookies feel firm.  Makes about 30 cookies.

Enjoy!

One Comment on “Delicious and Dirty (Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies)”

  1. […] Make more peanut butter cookies. (I succeeded at […]


Leave a Reply

