Hotter Than….

Jalapenos. I love them. Especially fresh out of the garden.

That being said, we are currently trying to figure out what to do with all of them! I’m in pepper heaven.

They’ve been pickled, sauced, jammed, fried and added as toppings to almost everything I’ve eaten lately.

Two nights ago, I stumbled upon a brilliant idea… I don’t exactly know how I came up with this… or why I never thought of it before. Sigh, so much wasted time!

Jalapeno Hummus. It’s spicy, tangy, smooth, hot. Delicious. And I think I have a new food addiction… no big deal.
image

You’re welcome.

Jalapeno Hummus:

Ingredients:

  • 1 large can chickpeas (you can also use dried and soak overnight)
  • 3 fresh jalapenos, seeds and stems removed
  • 2 cloves garlic (the bigger the better)
  • A pinch of sea salt-or to taste
  • A few cranks of crushed black pepper
  • About 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • Half a lemon
  • Roughly 2-3 tbsp. tahini

What to do:

Drain chickpeas and dump into food processor. Add in jalapenos, garlic, sea salt, pepper and olive oil (I roughly chopped my japs before doing this).

Process until the mixture is smooth, with some chunks. Squeeze in juice from half a lemon (and some zest if you’re feeling adventurous!) and tahini.  Blend until desired consistency.

Serve with your favorite snacking vegetables, crackers or as a sandwich spread. Hummus will last, sealed and refrigerated for a few days…if it lasts that long.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

