A Year Ago On This Day…

I was up until two in the morning frosting a cake, singing and laughing with some of my favorite people.

I woke up at the crack of dawn and had to transport said cake and decorating supplies to a winery.

There, I finished decorating my wedding cake. And then munched on fresh berries, mascarpone frosting and coffee.

I went to breakfast with my bestie. And tried to answer questions, messages and phone calls with a broken cell phone.

I got my hair styled and sucked down another coffee.

I ran through Price Chopper-with my amazing hairdo-carrying a case of PBR and a giant brick of cheddar cheese, pushing passers-by out of the way.

I sped up the northway back to the winery.

I put on my wedding dress.

I walked through rows of grapes and down an aisle full of friends and family.

I got to see Farmer Ben’s reaction. I’ll never forget it.

I stood in a gazebo with Farmer Ben and read my vows. Then the groom kissed me.

I celebrated.

I got to see and taste just how talented my husband is when I saw-and ate from- our amazing reception spread. Best food ever.

I had one glass of wine.

I couldn’t stop smiling.

I got to enter our little apartment with my husband and make it a home. For both of us.

I started my life with Farmer Ben.

I want to say that August 20, 2011 was the happiest day of my life, but the last year has held so much joy, I know that that isn’t true. The last year has been the best thus far. And I can’t wait to see what comes next.

The first of many “happiest days of my life.” (photo courtesy of Jona Favreau).

image

Happy First Anniversary, Benjamin! I love you. Each and every day.

image

Leave a Reply

