Is It Weird?

So, you already know that I have an unhealthy obsession with pickles…

And that any kind of yogurt except for plain makes me want to vom…

That I hate styrofoam…

And that I go through really weird food phases…

But now, I must confess another weird thing…

I really dislike going out to do dinner with certain people.

I know that sounds wrong. I absolutely love food. I love perusing menus, figuring out how I am going to treat myself. I love gossiping over a glass of wine.  And if I have room, splitting a dessert….

So maybe I should rephrase that…

I hate hate hate having to figure out where we’ll eat (with said certain friends). Seriously, there are so many restaurants in this town and they always pick one of the few that I try to avoid at all costs! I try not to make it a huge issue but it can be so hard!

 I’ve talked about how I try to eat healthy…and I succeed about 75% of the time. I also try to eat local most of the time-or at least responsibly in the sense that I need to know where my food comes from, how to pronounce all of the ingredients…and I need to understand how my food is processed, prepared and served to me.

This is especially important to me as of late, because, with all of this running, I am eating a whole heck of a lot more! Food is fuel. Plain and simple.

That’s why when friends suggest places that I normally try to avoid, I cringe. I am not a picky eater by any means and I would never go to someone’s home and refuse to eat…but when it comes to restaurants… I get anxiety attacks thinking about it…

“What the heck am I going to eat there?!”

“I can’t eat that much sodium in one sitting!”

The healthiest thing on this menu is beer!”

“If I eat anything at this place, I am going to be up all night!”

“Everything on their menu comes out of a bag!”

“I don’t want microwaved chicken or canned sauce!”

Now, I realize that I probably seem a bit neurotic and I may be over-dramatizing the situation… But being a person who tries to eat well (at least most of the time), you become very sensitive to certain ingredients that aren’t in your regular diet. AND, having worked/knowing people in the restaurant business, you begin to pick up on what’s going on behind the kitchen doors… some things really freak you out, like ingredient lists and food preparation.

So today, a group of friends decided that we should get together for dinner.

The first suggestion was Applebee’s. Per usual, I started to panic. I felt my blood pressure rise thinking about what on earth I would order besides cheap beer.

Again, I’m not a picky eater. I don’t want to be that person that makes a big deal about something as simple as dinner-but that kind of quasi-fast, pre-made food makes me sick. So, when that suggestion came up, I took a few minutes to have a silent mini-freakout at my desk before I responded with a simple, “Can I request anywhere but there? My race is the next day.”

It’s true, the Ragnar Relay IS the next day. If it wasn’t, I probably would have grinned and bore it… and ordered a lackluster salad that I still would have regretted eating a few hours later.

But this time is different.  I need to fuel my body properly because after that dinner, I’ll be going home, getting up by 4:30 am and heading out to do a ridiculous relay.

I prepared myself for a groan from my friends, but the only response I got was “Okay, you pick.”

So now I have the task of figuring out where we will eat because I spoke up. Again, normal people would be perfectly okay with this but for me, it’s still a hard decision.

But that’s a post for a different day….

Tell me, am I the only one who freaks out about going out to dinner? Am I the only one who won’t go to certain restaurants?

Let me know!

2 Comments on “Is It Weird?”

  1. Jenny Johnson says:

    I completely agree!!! I hate chains!! I have been in your situation so many times and I freak out on the inside too!

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one! I seriously feel my blood pressure rise just thinking about it!


Leave a Reply

