GBN: Week 12

Hi friends!

Hope you’re all having a great week. The Army Ten Miler is nine days away and I am getting pumped…and a little nervous!

The hotel is booked, my vacation slip is in and I am starting to freak….I am so excited I can barely contain it.

With all this excitement, getting sick is a terrible idea…but it happened.

This week my body has protested doing everything. I came down with some combination of a head, stomach, cold thing and have had some trouble bouncing back. After putting off running for a few days, I finally went out on Monday and Wednesday.

Sometimes, you just have to run that sickness out. Or at least try to, anyway.

Monday-4.42 Miles. I picked one of my old stand-by routes and blasted some upbeat tunage to get myself pumped up. It worked, I ended up doing this run at just over 9 minute mile pace, not too shabby after slightly over a week off! After this run I stretched and did some walking with the hubs, who is still healing from his injury.

Perfect night for a run… but not cold enough for the vest!

I took Tuesday off because of sickness and attended a fundraiser/comedy show instead. Such a good time! If you’ve never seen Cat Simmons, she’s pretty hilarious!

Wednesday-4.7 miles. I woke up feeling terrible. I attempted a smoothie for breakfast… it didn’t end well. I sucked it up and went to work. My goal for the day was to stay hydrated…and I ended up doing 4.7 miles at 9:30 pace. It wasn’t my best run, but it was nice to get out and enjoy some perfect running weather. I chose to run the bike path that goes along the lake and then added some extra on. My pace definitely surprised me. Once again, some upbeat tunage pushed me!

This workout took a lot out of me, but it also felt good to mentally run away from feeling sick and gross.  At least for a little while.

image

A little blurry… and totally GBN

Thursday-another rest day. I was feeling better on Thursday morning but after working a double, I opted for bed.

Today I am off to a conference/workshop in Connecticut. I am excited to learn some new things and packed my running gear to explore!

Catch you all next week!

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

