GBN: Week 14

Confession: I took a break after the Army Ten Miler.

Not on purpose, it just worked out that way. My hamstring had been bothering me since about mile 7 of the race and was pretty sore after…so I decided that a few days off would be good to keep injuries at bay… and then that “few days” turned into eleven.

But I’m back. And I have my eyes set on a slightly bigger prize.

So, here’s week 14:

Thursday-4.3 miles + cool down (Treadmill workout). Strangely, my first run back was on the treadmill. I say strangely because no matter how much I ran in the past or how great of shape I was in, I have NEVER been able to run on treadmill for more than a few minutes. In fact, I could barely manage a brisk walk on the treadmill. And when I say a few minutes, I mean a few minutes. Maybe 8 minutes running, tops.

And then it happened. A Thursday night at the Y, I found myself doing a 40 minute run (with a five-minute cool down) on the treadmill.

image

End Result….

Again, this has never happened. So I was pretty shocked…and sweaty. Not too shabby…but I admit, I used zero incline…mostly because I didnt’ know how it would go or if I would abandon it part way through (which usually happens). Regardless, I finished…and at a pretty good pace!

image

If you look closely, you can see my photographer. Hi Vanessa! Also, I’m over-glistening here… ick.

2. Saturday-2 mile night run! The hubby has been nursing a foot injury since the Ragnar Relay so he hasn’t run in over a month. But Saturday night, he felt like it was time. So we went to one of our usual spots and did two miles…fast!  9 minute pace.  I won’t lie, I was surprised–and impressed–that he was running so fast! He left me in the dust. It was a perfect way to end the day.

image

Showing off my Army Ten Miler Shirt!

Unfortunately the rest of the week didn’t go as planned… between a ridiculous drop in temperature, this cold that has been chasing me for over a month finally catching up with me (TMI: So much flegm!), work and life in general, I didn’t get another run in… however I did get to spend some extra time with Farmer Ben and we did some mall walking on Monday night… No, there were no windbreaker suits involved.

Overall, I am a little disappointed in myself this week, but at least I did SOMETHING. And you know, sometimes stuff happens. And you can only move on. So here’s to next week!

I think the time has finally come for me to bite the bullet and get a gym membership. Or to invest in some better winter running gear. 

How was your week? Are you braving the elements or hitting the gym for a workout?

Happy Running!

One Comment on “GBN: Week 14”

  1. Fantastic Post! Love the Blog, very Entertaining! PLZ checkout my blog at talk2thetrainer.com for health and fitness daily tips, recipes and everything related to Looking & feeling your best!


Leave a Reply

