A Horse of Course!

Sometimes, weird things happen to me. I can’t explain it, but they just…happen.

If you remember a few posts back, I had a little run-in with some flying food while on a run.

This morning’s attempt proved to be just as interesting.

I woke up at 4:45 am and immediately groaned, realizing that my alarm was set to go off in fifty-five minutes. I managed to go back to sleep until the familiar ringing began. Then, I thought I hit the snooze, but I didn’t. So I woke up with a start at 6:07 am.

“Oh NO!!! Why did I over-sleep?!” I thought.

I had missed my chance to get in the four and a half mile run I had planned on… but there was still time to run to the end of my road and back (a little over three miles).

I had this nagging feeling that I should go…

I then proceeded to get up, start to get dressed and then get back in bed…three times. Each time, that nagging feeling got worse and worse until I couldn’t take it any longer. It was as if someone was shouting at me, “GET UP!!!”

So I did. I layered up, grabbed my hat and found some good tunes.

I begrudgingly started down the driveway and turned onto the road.

Just as I was finding my stride, not even three minutes into my run, I noticed something out of the corner of my eye.

Standing in a field in front of me, was a horse.

Now, I realize that this doesn’t seem that strange due to the fact that I live a bit off the beaten path, however, there was no fence around this field, nor are there any barns on this particular patch of road.

“Well, this is interesting,” I thought.

Having grown up on a horse farm, I know the panic that strikes when you realize that your horse has gotten out.

As I stood there deciding what to do next, the horse ran across the road.

I quickly went over, grabbed his halter and led him back across the road to the big field he came from. He then trotted over to the house at the edge of the field, proceeded to scare their little dog and starting poking around their porch windows.

“Oh crap.”

I knocked on the door….nothing. I knocked again… still nothing.

“Well NOW WHAT?!”

So I shooed the horse away from the house and tried to think.

I called Farmer Ben, who was very confused about the current predicament I was in, but nevertheless, he told me he was getting dressed and would be along shortly.

At that moment, standing in the middle of the field with my new friend, I finally saw where the horse had come from. There was a fence and a barn at the opposite end of the field.

I started to lead the horse in that direction. He got bored and trotted the other way, having only a halter to hold onto, I let him.

Upon reaching the fence, I looked around to see where he had gotten out but didn’t see any breaks.

My friend ran into another person’s backyard and started sniffing around the clothesline.

“Why?!”

So I jogged up to the front door and knocked. Twice.

Nothing. Except their dog barking.

At that point, Ben pulled up in the Versa and the horse had trotted over to his fence.

Hopping in the car, I glanced back to see if he had gotten back in. He hadn’t.

I called a neighbor to see if he had the owner’s phone number. Fortunately he answered, unfortunately he didn’t have the number.

So we drove around the corner til we found what we thought was the right driveway. We walked up a small hill to discover that the driveway was in fact, on the other side of the house… oops.

I found the main door to the house and knocked. Nothing. I tried a few more times to no avail.

There was another fence connected to this one so I walked to the next driveway and happened to meet a woman coming out of her house.

When I asked if she had a horse, she looked at me like I had ten heads… after explaining the situation and pointing toward the fence/house, she informed me that it was her mother-in-law’s horse and would call her husband to go get him.

“Phew!”

As Ben and I walked back to the car, we saw a garage door open and the horse’s owner stepped out.

“Can I help you?” she asked. Looking back, we probably looked pretty strange, walking around her yard before 7 am.

I then explained the whole thing.

“Oh…. how did he get out? ” she asked… then, after a few more questions, “Thank you for letting me know. Thank you.”

I then realized that it was late and I was going to have to rush to get to work on time so we said goodbye and good luck and headed home.

I made it work in the nick of time.

So, in short, I didn’t get my run in…but I did my good deed for the day. I’d like to think I was supposed to wake up late and miss my window for the slightly longer run…just so I’d be in the right place at the right time…

Regardless, I know that I won’t be questioning those weird feelings telling me to get out the door and run…I’m gonna go!

image

To think, I also would have missed this gorgeous sunrise if I hadn’t gotten up!

2 Comments on “A Horse of Course!”

  1. vanessa says:

    you always have the wildest stuff happen to you on runs…werid but awesome!. glad that you were at the right spot at the right time

  2. […] ← A Horse of Course! November 15, 2012 […]


Leave a Reply

