Mirror, Mirror, On The Wall….

The month of December is going by entirely too fast. I’ve had so much going on and I feel like I am getting none of it done!

The Notebook has suffered due to this. But, I’m catching up. First things first.

Happiest of birthdays to my media naranja, Sara. May 25 be filled with lots of amazing things!

Anyway, as you may or may not know, I’ve been participating in a fun little online challenge called #elf4health. I totally planned on blogging about it each week… but, what’s that saying about life happening while you’re busy making plans? Well, yeah, that happened.

Today’s challenge is something from the heart. And I decided that it was time to do a post. Because… I like to talk a lot…and ramble.

Anyway, today’s challenge:

Look at yourself in the mirror & find THREE things you love about yourself.

1. My smile. I’ve been blessed with straight teeth–No braces. For this, I am so thankful. I also love that I have so many reasons to smile.  Every day!

I’m only 25, but I have been through a lot, especially over the last five years. I won’t get into details, but  there was a point in my life when I never thought that I would ever be able to truly smile again. I’m so happy that I was wrong.

Still smiling.

Still smiling.

Looking back is difficult, but it’s a time that I cherish because I grew so much as a person, and I pushed through.

Today, I have so many amazing people in my life. I laugh every day and I have been truly blessed, a good job, good health, good food, lots of love and so much more. So, I continue to smile.

2.  My legs and curves. If you’ve been following along, I recently posted about some issues I had with skinny jeans. In spite of these problems, I love my body. It may not be perfect, but it works perfectly for me. Since I’ve started running again, I’ve transformed my body, especially my legs and they continue to not fail me.

Post-race, Army Ten Miler, 2012

Post-race, Army Ten Miler, 2012

I’ve worked hard for those muscles and those curves and I am still in awe of what my body can do. My curve are a symbol of, not only my femininity, but also my strength.  I’m happy that, while I am not stick-thin, I’m healthy and my body reflects that. I am strong and I am woman–a winning combination.

3. My eyes. When I was younger, I desperately wanted to have blue eyes. It never happened. As I’ve grown older, I’ve decided that brown suits me much better. There is even a song for all of us brown-eyed girls!  I love the shape of my eyes and that  I’ve been blessed with long dark lashes… I also love that you can tell what I am thinking and feeling just by looking into them. 

coffee

Soul-searching or just waiting for the coffee to kick in?

 Most of all, I love that even with all the bad things, I am able to see the good in the world and in those around me through these eyes. As I’ve said, I had some troubled years but being positive and finding good in all situations has served me well. I admit it’s taken a lot of practice but  it’s something I hope never to lose.  

So, there you have it.  What are three things that you truly love about yourself? Anything that you have grown to love in recent years? I wanna know!

2 Comments on “Mirror, Mirror, On The Wall….”

  1. […] I blogged about one of my #elf4health challenges-3 things I truly love about myself. […]

  2. […] to say, this list (even though there was a similar challenge last year), has taken a bit of thought, but, here we […]


Leave a Reply

