GBN 17: The Return…sort of.

  Please ignore the number of days it has been since my last post. My only excuse is that I just started my new job (yay for promotions!) and between moving to a new office, training my replacement, learning a ridiculous amount of new information, fighting my January illness and being busy besides, I just haven’t had the mental energy…or time to sit down and write.

Anyway, let’s put that behind us and get back to it!  

As I mentioned in this post, I’ve got some big fitness goals this year. That means, I’m recommitting myself to running and getting stronger. I’m trying to incorporate more cross training into the workout schedule, so we’ll see how I do!

This GBN post is going to be for two and a half weeks, mostly because I’ve been battling a head/congestion/cold thing and just haven’t been up to working out. I’m hoping that after some much needed rest days, that I’ll be back at it tomorrow!

 The hubs and I made an impulse purchase of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. It was $9, what did we have to lose? So far, it was a solid investment. But I think we need a bigger living room.

Week 1:

Friday 1- 3.3 mile run in 31 min. The hubby and I headed to our usual night-time running spot for a quick jog. It was a  surprisingly warm night and we took full advantage of it!

wpid-2013-01-04_18-19-59_720.jpg

Saturday 1-30 Day Shred. Level 1. I convinced Farmer Ben to try some Jillian Michaels with me and it actually turned out to be a pretty good workout. Thanks, Jillian! Unfortunately, my phone was dead, so no proof photo.

Sunday 1-30 day shred level 1. Another day of shredding. Another quick sweat session.

30 day shred!

30 day shred!

Monday & Tuesday-Rest Days.

Wednesday-1 hour spin class! This was my date night with Farmer Ben. The couple that sweats together stays together! This was a hard class, but boy did I feel good after! I’m hoping this becomes a weekly ritual.

image

Week 2:

Thursday-3.5 miles. You’ve seen a similar photo to this one but I figured I’d repost. I felt so good after this run and kept an average of 8:40 pace. I didn’t think  I was going that fast, so it was a pleasant surprise. image

After my run, the hubs and I shredded and then ate an amazing dinner. I am such a lucky lady!

30 day shred... again.

30 day shred… again.

And then… a bunch of rest days.

I took a turn for the worse and finally succumbed to the cold I’ve been battling for weeks. Friday night I planned on a run but after feeling really dizzy all day, decided to go home and hop into bed. Saturday the hubs and I had tickets to a sno-cross tournament so we decided to check it out… and then I felt horrible and spent the next two and a half days in bed. I went to work the rest of the week, but basically went back to bed as soon as I got home.

I finally started feeling better on Friday night. I forced myself to take another day off, just in case.

Half a Week:

Well, as you can know, Thursday and Friday were rest days.

Saturday-30 Day Shred-Level 1. Farmer Ben and I were itching to try level 2, but we have to do some serious rearranging of our living room before we try it… that, and I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel after not doing anything for 9 days…so we did Level 1, but with the most intensity yet. On top of that, Farmer Ben and I went down to my mother’s house and ended up doing some unexpected walking in. Always a plus! It felt so good to sweat!

wpid-2013-01-19_17-16-27_594.jpg

Sunday: Another rest day. It appeared that Farmer Ben was coming down with whatever I had. So we took a day off and enjoyed some TLC.

Monday-Hey, that’s today! I have a date with Jillian tonight. Woo hoo!

Overall, the last two weeks have been a bit of a fail. My body, for lack of a better word, seriously bonked. But that’s okay. Marathon training officially starts this week. Today is considered a rest day, so I’ll be taking it easy with Jillian. 

Tomorrow, I run.

I have a feeling I’m going to spending a lot of quality time with the dreadmill. This will be heartbreaking…but a necessary evil. I have my calendar all filled in for the next 18 weeks and am so excited to get some mileage in. Wish me luck!

Happy Running!

 

 

 

One Comment on “GBN 17: The Return…sort of.”

  1. Katie says:

    Damn girl, I’m jealous of those mile times!


Leave a Reply

