GBN 18: Marathon Training Week 1

Oh hey!  I’ve been in marathon training for about a week and a half now… I should probably do a Gross But Necessary Update, huh?

I’ve also decided that Thursday is no longer the best day to post GBN updates, so I will let you know when to expect them, once I figure that out… 

As you know, my schedule has drastically changed so I am working on establishing  routine for…everything. Le sigh.

Minor ADD Moment: Check out my guest post on my friend Chelsea’s Blog!

http://yashascrazylife.com/2013/01/28/guest-post-noelle-on-running/ 

Week 1 was hard…with below zero temperatures,  it was impossible (okay, maybe possible but very ill-advised) to run outside for most of the week, so I had to use the dreadmill. My hips were not happy with me, but I got most of the workouts done.

As you may or may not know, I’m focusing on better managing my money, so a gym membership is an unnecessary luxury at this time (at least that is what I’m telling myself!). I had a minor panic attack last week when I saw the weather because I also do not own a treadmill. Luckily, I have friends who happen to live right around the corner who were kind enough to let me use their exercise room for Day 1. I also have a secret friend at a local gym that helped me out. So, a huge thank you!

So, let’s get started, shall we?

Marathon Training, Week 1:

Monday-rest day. I like this training program!

Tuesday-3 mile run on the treadmill. Have I mentioned how much I hate running on the treadmill?! This was rough. I managed an average pace of 8:40… but it was really hard. I only went that fast because I wanted the run to be over as quickly as possible. I’m clumsy as it is, but being stuck on this machine makes it worse. I dropped my phone about 23454134 times (I needed some tunes)and somehow managed to unplug the machine after 1.2 miles. Thank God I had a backup timer to tell me how long I had been going. This is going to take some getting used to.

image

I have a feeling that I didn’t enjoy this workout very much…

Wednesday-3.1 mile run on the treadmill. I was supposed to run 5 miles but my commute to the gym was interrupted by a broken rail road crossing, which left me without enough time. I kept an average of ten minute pace and did a variety workout to make it more interesting. My hips were NOT happy when I got off.

image

Not gonna lie, I was disappointed in myself.

Thursday & Friday-Rest Days. Thursday was supposed to be a 3 mile run but my body was not having it. I decided to listen to it and give my hips a break.

Saturday-Walking (Proof photo fail). The hubby and I had a lot to do on Saturday so we got in an hour or so of walking with all of our errands. Not the best form of cross-training, but it’ll do.

Sunday-8 miles. I admit it, I was all set to put my long run off until Monday…Thankfully my friend Kim texted me and invited me to go with her. Our friend Cat joined us. I am so glad I went! We averaged 10:30 pace and it was a balmy 16 degrees!

image

Happy to have been able to run outside!!!

I felt so accomplished, especially because it’s the longest run I’ve done in over a month.

Overall, I wasn’t impressed with Week 1, mostly because I didn’t put as much into it as I should have. But, it’s the beginning of an 18 week journey and I can only go up from here!

I’m currently in the midst of Week 2, and am happy to report that it’s going MUCH better than last week. I’m struggling with scheduling my time. I know it’s a necessity, but I’ve got to just do it…and not put things off.

 On another note, one of my MFP buddies (Hi HFPGH!) talked me into taking “Before Photos,” or… in my case, “In Process Photos.” Talk about extra motivation! Woof!

I haven’t done much shredding or spinning in the last week or so because of little life things that keep popping up, but I think it’s on the agenda. Again, that scheduling thing is killing me! But I’m ready to do this!!!

Here’s to an amazing next 17 weeks!

Happy Running!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

