When did L-O-V-E become a Four Letter Word?

It never ceases to amaze me that we, as humans, can be so hurtful. Consciously hurtful.

Allow me to vent for just a moment:

Today, I had a conversation. A very short conversation (if you can even call it that!). I received the g-chat version of the phone slamming down in my ear.

Basically, I reached out to someone close to me. I admit, it had been longer than it should have been since we last talked, but not for lack of trying on my part…perhaps I should have tried harder?

I contacted them to ask a question and instead of an answer, I received a very nasty, downright rude response. And then, they were gone. I was left with the notification that they were offline.

I allowed myself to get angry, but upon closer inspection, I realize that I am just hurt. I waited a few minutes, then I typed out a short response–an apology, even–and sent it into cyberspace.

It breaks my heart that people use their words as weapons. What happened to respect? To treating others how we would like to be treated? When did being hurtful, manipulative and downright mean become acceptable?

I will be the first to admit that I am NOT perfect. I have a temper, I take things the wrong way and I often jump to conclusions and get bent out of shape about silly things.

But I try to show respect for every person I come into contact with, regardless of who they are and the medium by which we are communicating. I try to think before I speak and weigh the impact that my words will have.

I look to my faith for guidance and try to do what is right.

I haven’t always done this and I still screw up. But I try.

I’ve been stewing about this all day and wasn’t sure if I should post this or not…but, to be perfectly honest, I really need to get it off my chest.

When did it become so difficult to be kind? To forgive others? To be respectful?

What happened to loving others? 

Leave a Reply

