Ch-Ch-Chia Oatmeal?!

So as you may or may not know, I recently read Born to Run.

Mind=Blown.

Anyway, chia seeds are discussed in the book and I totally bought into the hype. I immediately went to the co-op and picked up a small container (in case I didn’t like them). And yes, if you’re thinking of the infamous Chia Head, these seeds are the same…and so much more!

After purchasing this tiny super-food, I set out to find ways to use them. I used them in a gluten-free flatbread recipe as a substitute for gelatin (they worked better than expected), we also put them in smoothies.

Thus far my favorite way thus to eat them is in overnight chia oatmeal.

image

So pretty! Don’t mind my floured counter–tortilla making happened about five minutes before-real life.

This is super easy, and kind of fun to make. Below is the version I’ve been making most recently, but as usual, this is easy to adapt and change to your liking.  I’ve seen some recipes call for adding sweeteners, but in my opinion, the fruit is enough. I’ll leave that up to you.

When mixed with liquid, the chia seeds get a fun gelatinous texture, similar to tapioca.

It’s also pretty great because you get tons of fruit in your first meal of the day  and you can just grab it and throw in your purse (great for people like me who are bad about eating fruit and are always running late for work in the morning).

If you’re like us, you have an abundance of mason jars in your house and are trying to figure out how to use them when not canning.  Today, you’re in luck. You don’t have an abundance of mason jars? That’s okay, any airtight container will work.

Overnight Chia Oatmeal:

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup rolled or steel-cut oats (I don’t remember what we have, either will work), uncooked
  • 1 tbsp. Chia Seeds
  • 1/2 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 1 Saturn peach, pit removed and chopped (a regular peach or 1/2 cup frozen/canned peaches will also work, just avoid anything with added sugars or syrups).
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used regular whole milk but almond or coconut milk would also be wonderful)
  • 1 pint mason jar with lid (if you’re missing the lid, use parchment paper and cover with ring, or use any airtight container).

Optional Toppings:

  • Nuts of your choice
  • Coconut
  • Nut Butter
  • Chocolate shavings
  • Cinnamon

What to do:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients in jar, add milk. Seal, give the container a few good shakes and place in the fridge.
  2. Let sit overnight and eat for breakfast with or without the toppings of your choice.
image

A slightly different version, morning after.

That’s it. Boom Done.

PS. I’ve totally been holding out on you but I will be back. Pinky Promise. The delicious-ness and ridiculous-ness to follow will be worth it…at least I hope so.

3 Comments on “Ch-Ch-Chia Oatmeal?!”

  1. Chelsea says:

    I’m obsessed with chia oatmeal. I like to make it with mashed bananas and peanut butter, or with dried apricots and honey. My favorite part of chia seeds is that if I start my day with them in my breakfast, I don’t need coffee at all. I’ve been drinking 3 cups a day since college, so that’s huge.

  2. I haven’t added peanut butter yet, but it’s on the list (for some crazy reason, we are currently out-who runs out of peanut butter?!)… I noticed I haven’t been drinking as much coffee…but I’m not sure if the chia seeds are responsible or not. Haha!

  3. […] willing to try. I’m also eating lots of veggies, mixing up my meals and trying new foods (chia seeds, anyone?). I am also focusing on eating enough quality foods….like this salad (90% of this […]


Leave a Reply

