So Now What?

In case you missed this post, I finally took the plunge and officially signed up for my first marathon! Wow.

On September 22, 2013, I’ll be running the Adirondack Marathon in Schroon Lake, NY. I’m pretty excited.

Here is a view of the course elevation (and part of the map):

Source

Source

It’s going to be ridiculously a bit hilly… but I’m not worried (yet).

So what is my plan?

1. Train: I opted for Hal Higdon’s Intermediate 1 program. I’m currently on week 4. Luckily, I had already been running consistently for a few weeks because I had to start at the end of Week 2 to be on track. Poor planning on my part….Oops!

I’m going to focus on hill work…because, well, you can see why. Luckily, Schroon Lake isn’t too far of a drive, so if I get desperate, I can head there for a long run.

I’m focusing on, not only getting in the mileage, but also on getting stronger. If this means doing a 10pm 30 Day Shred session or doing an early morning core workout, then so be it.

I’m not as fast as I was last year, but I’m not beating myself up. I’d rather be slow and steady than fast and injured (again).

2. Plan ahead: I’m really good at filling up my schedule, and this summer is no different. Between full-time work, part-time work, volunteering, online classes, praise and worship team, weddings, baking and hubby time, I’m committed almost every weekend for the next couple of months. This is going to make fitting in those long runs tough. It’s also going to require me to say “no.” And…I’m going to have to drag my butt out of bed early. Really early. This is tougher. So if you have any tips, please share them!

3. Sleep: Speaking of dragging my butt out of early, I need to focus on quality sleep. This is going to be the hardest part for me because I have never been a good sleeper. Don’t get me wrong, I love sleep…I’m just not good at it…if that makes sense. It’s really hard to get up early and run (or go for a late-night run, as I had to a few days ago) without enough sleep.

So how do we remedy this? The hubby and I have made a commitment to turn our phones off and, taking it a step further, keep them out of the bedroom. Have you ever woken up at 3:00 in the morning to that obnoxious flashing because you got some sort of junk mail or late night text? Yeah, me too… I’m over it.

Another thing we’re doing is unplugging at least an hour before bed and trying to make our room dark (there’s a light outside our window that goes on at random intervals through the night… not conducive to quality sleep). I’ve also been trying to make a conscious effort to not drink caffeine after a certain time… or anything for matter (raise your hand if you have a small bladder!). Someday, we’re upgrading to memory foam. Someday. Until that day, we’ll see if these other adjustments help.

4. Proper Fueling: I eat pretty well…most of the time (80/20 principle)…but eating for a marathon? I’m not really sure how to eat for optimum training and energy. I can tell you what foods I wouldn’t eat because of stomach issues…and I have a vague idea of eating a variety…but after that, I’m not really sure. I can tell you that the thought of ingesting all those gu’s and gels kind of freaks me out.

So, I’m doing research and experiments to figure out alternatives; I’m reading new running/health blogs and am in the middle of Eat & Run by Scott Jurek (he’s a vegan ultra runner! Awesome, right?!) and getting some ideas from the recipes in the book and his personal anecdotes. I know not all of them will work for me, but I’m willing to try. I’m also eating lots of veggies, mixing up my meals and trying new foods (chia seeds, anyone?). I am also focusing on eating enough quality foods….like this salad (90% of this came from our garden).

My go-to mode of enormous salad transportation.

My go-to mode of enormous salad transportation.

Yesterday, I made rice milk. I don’t think Farmer Ben will ever forgive me.

This weekend? Chocolate Adzuki bars. I’ll be posting my kitchen/fuel successes, so be on the lookout! I’m not working my second job as much, this means that I have more time to play in the kitchen. Win.

5. Have fun. I don’t think this one needs an explanation.

After a really enjoyable run...

After a really enjoyable run…

What about you?! Are you in training? Any tips?!

Happy Running!

5 Comments on “So Now What?”

  1. Chuck says:

    Good luck! I’m working on the sleep issue myself. I’ve always been a night owl and have existed my whole life on roughly 6 hours per night. Every now and then, it catches up to me and I have a marathon sleep weekend, or…I’ll fall asleep in the living room on a rest day after sitting down to watch some show or another. It cracks me up sometimes!

  2. Thank you! I am so glad I am not the only one who has this pesky little problem. I’m finding that unplugging an hour before bed DOES help… however, my tiny bladder always gets the best of me…

  3. zeelemons says:

    I’d say the one thing that got me up and out of bed early in the morning (at least for my long runs) was planning ahead and running with someone. The commitment of having to meet someone always made me shoot right up in the morning. Also, remind yourself the night before WHY you want to run this marathon. Keeping yourself motivated helps keeping yourself moving.

    Fuel wise, I say stay as clean as possible, and you don’t always need to “carb up” the night before. Sleep wise, just make it a habit for you and the hubby, and it’s great that you are unplugging and leaving your phones out of the bedroom 🙂

    Sounds like you are on the right path!

    • Yes! I just have to convince someone to get up early with me! haha! I have to say, the hubs has been a huge help…. and he’s always looking for healthy new fueling foods… gotta love that!

      And as for the unplugging thing, it’s definitely helped!

  4. […] I’ve mentioned this before. And I’ve talked about how I am going to work on saying no and plan ahead… but stuff comes up…I’ve found myself overwhelmed more than a couple of times and wondering how I’m going to fit in my long run…or any run, depending on the week! […]


Leave a Reply

