Facebook Official, No More.

This may come as a shock to some of you who know me best…but it’s something I’ve been contemplating for some time now…

I’m unplugging from Facebook.

I know…shocking!

Will it be permanent?

Probably not… but I need some time. Time to do more, to see more, and to step back from the constant updates (read: the time-suck) of my newsfeed.

I feel like I’ve been spending too much time clicking through my “liked” pages, scanning my newsfeed and stalking friend’s photos…and I need to focus on other things right now…like my faith, work, my goals, marathon training…and this guy:

I love a man who gardens...

I love a man who gardens…

Now, I realize that many of my readers come from Facebook, and honestly, that was one reason that I’ve held off on doing this for so long, but I’m going to take a leap of faith…

 WARNING: Shameless plug time!

For my last “status update,” I posted a link to the blog and my twitter handle (@noellesnotebook) and hope that my Facebook stalkers friends will follow me here.. If you’re reading this and are not currently following, you can click the follow button on the right-hand side of the page. Easy-peasy. No pressure…but… please?

Fun fact: The hubs also deactivated his account today. Here is the abbreviated version of our (text) conversation regarding his reasoning:

FB: I deactivated my fb acct.

Me: Why’s that?

FB: Eh…the usual reason, don’t really talk to anyone, just get angry by what I see on there… NSA Spying…and I don’t mind untangling myself from it…. And I have better things to do, like spend time with my beautiful wifey.

Me.: 🙂 That IS a good alternative.

First, my heart totally melted when he gave the last reason (I know, barf.).

Second, I’ve been feeling the same way about my social media time…I’ve felt over stimulated and I’ve slowly been cutting down my texting and internet time.

But I’m still SO guilty of wasting too much time on social media…this conversation is giving me the push I need… I’d rather be living in real-time…being present!

image

Quick trip to Boston…so burnt!

So….again, I hope you stick with me in this little corner of the internet. I love hanging out with you!

Up close and personal...

Up close and personal…

Happy Friday!

What do you do to unplug? Have you ever broken up with Facebook? Why? What is your biggest social media vice?

10 Comments on “Facebook Official, No More.”

  1. zeelemons says:

    I’ve been off of facebook for like 4 or 5 months now and don’t miss it! I want to be surprised when I show up to my ten year reunion 🙂

  2. Terry says:

    Me too! I dumped it about a year ago and don’t really miss it. Most of the stuff I saw on there was trivial and in addition, my account got hacked, which was one thing too many!

    Good for you both!

    • Yeah, it was getting to the point that I was seeing more sponsored posts than updates from my friends… I’m just over it… I’d rather get a phone call or a letter than a “wall post” anyway!

  3. cdhoagpurple says:

    I just deactivated my fb account. I may delete it permanently. The time you save not being on it will be truly shocking. You may even develop a life. That is a goal for me, at least.

  4. I really wish I could work up the courage to deactivate mine. I find myself more and more frustrated with it every day. Maybe I’ll try to go a day without it and go from there.

  5. […] far as spending less time on my phone, I’ve absolutely cut down on this. I deactivated my Facebook account and haven’t looked back. I may re-activate it when I get back into the heart of planning […]

  6. […] weird part about getting back into race planning is that I’ll probably be re-activating my Facebook account. Not just yet, but eventually. I haven’t used it since the beginning of July, and honestly […]

  7. […] You may or may not know that I haven’t been on Facebook in a long time. In all honesty, I don’t miss it (other than it seems to be the only way some people keep in […]


Leave a Reply

