Scenes from a Day Off

Last week, the hubby and I barely saw each other (Other than Monday when we were in Boston). I ended up working both jobs and doing a lot of running around most days, so I was home to sleep…and that’s pretty much it.

Needless to say, we were looking forward to our day (much-needed!) day of rest on Sunday. We hadn’t been to Burlington in forever so we decided to take a day trip across the lake. We both needed a good day off. So, off to Burlington we went…..

Beautiful day for a drive around the lake…

image

Weird Self Portrait….

image

White-Legged Kicking Back in the passenger seat…..

image

Farmer Ben Driving… Bridge to VT

image

A Draw Bridge…waiting for the boaters.

image

One of our favorite places to eat… note the page numbers of the beverage list!

image

Farmer Ben’s Breakfast.(Local) Scrambled eggs with cheddar and scallions, bread, butter, hash browns and a pork product that I ended up eating…

image

My Breakfast: (Local) Eggs Benedict over a house-made English muffin, kale, mushrooms–mostly eaten by Farmer Ben– and hash browns

image

Burlington Landmark, Al’s French Fries. My first visit… I don’t know what they use for hamburger buns…but OMG-SO GOOD.

image

The main event

Not pictured:

  • Two Running Shoe stores and my awesome new Mizunos!
  • Browsing and people-watching on Church Street
  • Artisan Olive Oil and Vinegar sampling at the Saratoga Olive Oil Co.
  • Moroccan Mint Iced Teas at Uncommon Grounds
  • Getting lost
  • Healthy Living Market
  • Wally’s Bagels Delicious Bagels made on-site in VT. THE BEST!
  • Super cheap gas (seriously, I paid $.17 less than I usually do at the cheapest place in town! Grr!!!)
  • A chipotle-infused maple syrup (YUM!) randomly exploding in my back seat (Luckily, it was in a bag so the mess was minimal)
  • Sharing a glass of Spanish Red and watching a cheesy sci-fi flick to unwind–at home! Gasp!

Phew! What a great day!

What did you do this weekend? Have you ever had a messy explosion/spill in your car?

2 Comments on “Scenes from a Day Off”

  1. Terry says:

    I once had two cans of energy drink go off like bombs past my ear. They froze in the cold, then blew up when they thawed. I thought someone was shooting at us! And it’s not that easy to clean the roof!

    • Ooh! I’ve had that happen with beer before, I bought a micro-brew as a gift for someone and forgot about it…I got in my car the next day and couldn’t figure out why it smelled like a frat house! The worst!


Leave a Reply

