You’ve Got to be Kidding Me

So, you probably know that I am semi-obsessive about reading ingredient labels and doing research on food…

You may not know that I don’t much pay attention to the actual nutrition label: fat content, carbs, etc.–unless it’s the vitamins and minerals portion–Instead, I try to eat whole foods, meaning that I try to know exactly where my food came from and exactly what I’m eating.

In the summer, most of our meals come straight from the garden.

Don’t get me wrong, I still eat cheeseburgers and drink a beer now and then, but I pay attention to where it’s coming from. This doesn’t mean I have free reign, and I try to eat what’s best for my body…it’s about balance… you get my drift.

So allow me to vent for a moment…

I work with mostly males at both of my jobs.

Needless to say, the girls are a pretty close-knit group in both places, so as you can imagine I always sometimes notice what they eat. I also know when one of them is looking to lose a few pounds.

There are two women in particular that seem to be on the diet cycle at one point or another (also, can we talk about how I hate the word diet?).  Because I am “healthy,” they’ll talk to me about what I eat–mostly because, I’ve managed to lose a few pounds.

I always tell them the same things; stay away from diet anything, use real ingredients, don’t buy pre-packaged items, cook at home,  you get the idea.

They nod their heads in agreement.

But then… I see what they’re eating.

One of them drinks a daily Slim-Fast, eats a fat-free yogurt chock-full of fake sugar and artificial flavors and then goes out for fried food on Fridays. This makes me want to bang my head against the wall.

The other visits the vending machine for a bear claw. FROM THE VENDING MACHINE! It probably doesn’t even taste that good…but the thing that really kills me? It’s not once or twice a week, but EVERY DAY. EVERY SINGLE DAY!

And then… they wonder why they don’t feel good…why they’re tired, why their clothes don’t fit.

Call me crazy, but eating a giant fried pastry everyday can’t be good for you.

Again, I do not claim to be an expert in this area, and I am far from perfect. But I’ve found that eating well works. Period. I don’t eat well 100% of the time, but I do more often than not… I’m not a size 4, but I’m healthy.

Seeing this constant food craziness gets to me.

End Rant.

What are some of your “diet” pet peeves?

2 Comments on “You’ve Got to be Kidding Me”

  1. zeelemons says:

    have you ever read Salt Sugar Fat? the beau and I are reading it right now and it will blow your mind and the way you ever look at food again.


Leave a Reply

