GBN: 17 Miles-Boom. Done.

Seventeen Miles?

I was worried about this run. After missing my long run the week before and dealing with foot issues for the last couple of weeks (aka resting), I was worried my body was going to fail me. I felt unprepared and completely unsure of myself. Not good.

But I did it. And I survived. I can officially say that 17 miles is the furthest I have ever run.

It didn’t go exactly as planned…does it ever?

Side note: This is going get a little detailed. My apologies in advance.

I started out Saturday morning thinking that I would have a quick breakfast and head out the door to get the run out of the way early. Sounds easy enough, right?

Unfortunately my body had other plans. I had worked late the night before and my employee meal of shrimp and pasta was not settling well (the chef had already made my meal before I could say anything and I didn’t want to be rude).

I woke up around 7:30–still relatively early for me on a Saturday–and laid in bed for another few minutes. Then I enjoyed a cup of coffee and a bagel with peanut butter. All things that don’t typically bother me.

But my body, more specifically my stomach, was not feeling too hot.

I paced around the apartment hoping things would settle but it wasn’t happening…so Farmer Ben talked me into going to the Farmers’ Market, telling me I could run home to start the 17 miles. I agreed and gathered my CamelBak and other run essentials to throw in the backseat of my car.

When we got to the market, I took some of these (which I will be doing a whole post on!) in preparation for my run home and beyond:

wpid-IMG_20130727_101546.jpg

After picking up a few things and a quick side trip to the co-op, I knew running home was not going to happen. Let’s just say, my stomach was running (Ha! Get it?) the show. So, back home we drove.

Finally, something happened (I’ll let you use your imagination) and I decided to get going before my body had a chance to realize what it was doing.  I grabbed my CamelBak, a few items for fuel, my phone, headphones and watch and headed out the door.

It was 11 am. And it was hot.

I decided to try running on some different roads near my house. I’ve been wanting to check them out for a couple of months but, I guess you could say I am a creature of habit.

The first four miles were a breeze. Even though I had some hills, I found my stride and was in the zone. Not only was I energized, but I felt good. Really good. I was actually surprised at how quickly the miles passed. Note to self: Start slower.

I took a walk break at the five-mile mark for a Clif SHOT gel.

NOTE: I got a bunch of these free from a race and have been trying to use them up. I like the gel/bloks ingredient list a lot more than other gels or GU’s, but I don’t think this is my fuel solution….my stomach hasn’t been happy.  

The new route did not disappoint. I lost myself in the scenery, I passed a few farms (including a goat/sheep farm!), an airstrip, rolling hills and open fields. I got an awesome burst of energy after my fuel break and kept up a pretty good pace until my next break, the 9 mile mark. I caught myself speeding up a lot and had to force myself to slow down a few times. Note to self: start slower and pay attention to your pace.

I took a walk break for some more of those green beauties pictured above and passed a woman driving a carriage with a miniature horse. Pretty cool right?

At 9 miles, I had run out of new roads and was trying to figure out the next stops on my route. I decided to stick to a combination of two of my usual routes because they have some hills…and well, I need to run more hills.

Miles 10 and 11 weren’t too bad, but I was definitely getting tired. I let myself walk for two minutes during mile 11 because I happened to be running up a giant hill. LAME.

A little after mile 12, I started to feel really light-headed and took another Clif SHOT.

The last 5 miles were some of the toughest I have ever done. I was sunburnt, light-headed, starving, and my feet hurt. I had wicked Charlie horses in my quads. Not gonna lie, I let myself walk. A lot. I chewed some (also free) SHOT Bloks, hoping that would help me re-focus and ease the muscle cramps. And it did help…some.  I ran out of water with 2 miles to go. Thankfully I was close to home.

I play this game with myself when I get tired. I think the technical term is “posting.” Basically, you pick a point on the road, and mentally pull yourself toward it. I did this a lot during those last five miles. I would make myself run to a certain point, then let myself walk to a certain point…then repeat.

I turned up my music and tried to block out everything else. I even caught myself jamming out a few times.

Soon, I was there. I had done 17 miles. Granted it wasn’t a running-only 17 miles, and it wasn’t very fast, especially those last five miles. But I had done it.

Post 17 Miles.

Post 17 Miles.

And you know, after doing it, I know I can do 18, 20 and eventually, 26.2.  It won’t be easy but I’ll do it.

What did I learn after this long run?

  • Watch what I eat . Not just the day of my run, but the day or two before as well. I’ve been eating a lot of veggies this week in preparation for my 18-miler on Saturday. My stomach has been all out of sorts this week, partially because of some poor post-run eating choices and partially because of the long run after-effects… so I’m sticking with my go-to giant salad for lunch as much as I can..

wpid-IMG_20130730_115914.jpg

  • Play around with my in-run fuel. I think it’s safe to say that I need something to supplement my water because I was definitely feeling depleted after all those miles. The light-headedness was tough and I think I need to add some electrolytes to help that. I’m going to try real, whole foods this weekend (some fruit, bars, etc.) and see how I feel.
  • Pay closer attention to my pace. I started out fast. A little too fast. I was happy to be out running after taking time off and I just let myself go. But, I would rather start out slow and steady and hold that pace than to start fast and bonk like I did. I would have had an easier last five miles if I had paced myself better. Lesson learned.

As I mentioned before, I am going to do a separate, more detailed, post on my fuel (the green goodies pictured above). I can’t wait to share more. Stay tuned!

How is your training going? What’s on your training schedule for this weekend? Any advice for long-run snacks?

Happy Running!

6 Comments on “GBN: 17 Miles-Boom. Done.”

  1. Chuck says:

    Good for you! I’ve had to take a full week off, not being able to get a run in at all this week. I’ll be with extended family this weekend, so this weekend is off as well. Oddly enough, I find myself looking forward to Monday!! I’ll be able to get back on the road again. I’ve got a 7 miler planned for that day and am looking forward to an easy pace. I’m getting some new route ideas and am looking forward to exploring them all. Good luck on Saturday!

    • Thank you! Isn’t funny how out of sorts we get when we break from our running routine? I’ve had a hectic week and had to rearrange/skip a couple of runs as well, and let me tell you… I have not been happy about it! Enjoy your 7 miles on Monday!

  2. zeelemons says:

    yay! Energy Bits! I love them and swear by them- I take them before every run now. I’ve officially stopped consuming the clif shots because they make me have to go to the bathroom (in a very urgent way)… that wasn’t lady like to describe but hey… I now usually eat a date or two or a couple slices of raw mango. I skipped my 12 miler this past weekend because I pulled a muscle in my butt (ouch!) and am dreading my 13 miles this Saturday!

    • Haha! It’s totally fine and unfortunately, I know exactly what you mean… I am so excited that my bits came so I’ll have them for the rest of my long runs…definitely think they helped me recover. I will have to try dates, I had an apple for my 18 miler and it settled much better than other things I’ve tried. Haha! Hope your 13 miles went well!

  3. zeelemons says:

    oh and I forgot to add, to get myself through the last miles, I tell myself, “just a 5k left” because I KNOW I can run a 5k. I just try to trick my body into running a 5k, and sometimes my last three miles are my fastest because I get into “race” mode

  4. […] after 17 miles, I learned a few […]


Leave a Reply

