GBN: Pre-Marathon Jitters

You guys…I’m running a marathon this weekend!!! (Did anyone else just picture that scene in Mama Mia? Anyone?)

Yesterday, I found myself telling Ben that I was going back and forth between “feeling ridiculously excited and absolutely terrified.” No matter what happens this weekend, I am going to give it my all….and I am going to enjoy the ride.

I’m taking a lot of comfort in the fact that my last couple of weeks of training have been really enjoyable. I’m feeling strong on my runs (even if they are shorter) and I am have a great time in the process!

image

Night Runs are exhilarating!

Anyway, it’s been a busy week in our house. Luckily, Farmer Ben is the best hubs ever.

So, here is my week in training…and then some life:

Monday: I ended up having to work at job 2 on Friday and Saturday night…between that, church, group meetings and having a minor car issue (my muffler decided it was going to break) which entailed a lot of running around, I ended up doing my final long run on Monday night.

Not having my car that day turned out to be a blessing…I finished much earlier than normal because I had to run from my job to meet Ben when he got out of work. My stomach was finicky the entire time, but I found my zone and ended up going a lot faster than I thought I was going. I don’t know if that is good or bad…..regardless, it was a beautiful day and I felt great! I ended up doing 9 miles instead of the prescribed 8.

image

This is the face of confusion…sweaty confusion.

Tuesday: I got stuck at work until late and ended up taking a rest day… I took a deep breath and told myself this was not a big deal.

Wednesday: It was a much better day.

Not only did Farmer Ben get my muffler fixed (Yay!) but, he also got my oil changed, took me to lunch, went for a run with me and made a banging dinner.

Oh…you want to hear about my run?

We ended up doing one of our regular loops featuring a big hill backwards… there is still a hill going the other way, but not nearly as steep.

Ben ended up taking off and getting pretty far ahead of me as I was trying to stay closer to my goal pace for the marathon…but then my competitive side kicked in…. and I ended up booking it up the hill in order to catch up with him… when I finally caught him, he had a look of confusion on his face…

And then he asked the question: “Do you have a funny taste in your mouth?”

Me, completely confused and unaware: “…No…what sort of taste?”

Ben: “You don’t taste something? Like Dust? (insert pause for effect) because I certainly DON’T!”

It took me a moment to get the joke, then I burst out laughing and slapped his arm.

And then I left him in MY dust…for a couple of minutes.

I ended up slowing down a little bit for the last mile, but overall I ended up running faster than planned. In the end, I still felt good!

Practicing for race day with my fuel belt...

Practicing for race day with my fuel belt…

I had to take a picture of Farmer Ben after his zing… notice his smirk:

wpid-2013-09-18_19-04-06_21.jpg

 

Anyway, after our run, Ben whipped a Swiss Chard risotto (complete with garden veggies, homemade chicken stock and almond milk) and some (local) chicken sausage meatballs.  I had two helpings, it was soooo good! I have to say, I am pretty darn blessed to have such a good husband, even if he does tease me during our runs.

 

A bowl of yum.

A bowl of yum.

So what’s going on the rest of the week?

  • Tonight: I’m going out for an easy three miles to make up for Tuesday.
  • Friday:  Rest day.
  • Saturday: I’m heading down to the race expo and going to scope out parking, bathrooms, clothing check and the like… I’m also going to squeeze in an easy 2 miles to keep loose.
  • Sunday: Race day!!!

As for food, I’m focusing on quality… I’m trying to load up on my veggies and avoid too much dairy, sugar and heavy foods in general, as my stomach has been a bit off the last few days (nerves). I’m also taking my ENERGYbits, focusing on drinking a lot of water  and logging my food on myfitnesspal to make sure I’m getting enough of everything… Saturday night, I’m planning on a simple pasta meal and then Sunday morning, I’m going with a bagel with peanut butter, honey and a banana for breakfast.

Tell me, any advice for race day? What do you eat before a big race? Have any good running burns? 

Happy Running!

3 Comments on “GBN: Pre-Marathon Jitters”

  1. Chelsea says:

    You’re going to be amazing! Good luck this weekend Lovely!

  2. zeelemons says:

    I’ve got the butterflies for you! I LOVE those jitters before a race! You’ll do great and I can’t wait to hear how it goes! For a hot second I thought, “I could go run a couple of miles (6-10) with her this weekend along the course,” but, I’ll be out of town. Poo! Stick to what you’ve always had before your long runs, for me straight up fruit, and make sure not to drink too much along the course! eeek!


Leave a Reply

