Scenes from a Ridiculous Road-Trip

Hi Friends!

I am finally getting around to showing you some photos from our road-trip.  In case you weren’t aware, the hubby and I took off to Mount Pleasant, South Carolina (we were attending my dear friend, Sara’s wedding), with a slight detour to St. Simons Island, Georgia (to visit Farmer Ben’s dad/step-mom). On the way home, we stopped in Northern Virginia, where Farmer Ben  got to see my old stomping grounds and we caught up with my friends Natasha and Liz!

Can I just tell you, we had a blast? A lot of friends said we were crazy for driving, but we enjoyed it…it also allowed us to have some adventures and views you just can’t get on an airplane.

Anyway, we left immediately after picking up our rental in Burlington, VT and didn’t stop until we finally needed a nap at about 5:30 in the morning… we were in Pennsylvania.

Sidenote: I saved $300+ by renting a car across the lake….how does that work?!

Not gonna lie, I was pretty bad about taking pictures, partly because I was doing a lot of driving (about 50% to be exact) and partly because, well… I just didn’t feel like taking pictures. Silly, I know.

Anyway, here we go….

This photo was somewhere in Virginia… This was after driving through the night with only a quick stop for (delicious) pizza and 3 hour nap. Can you see how happy Farmer Ben is that I am taking his picture?

Can you spy the hitch-hiker?

Can you spy the hitch-hiker?

Next we have South of the Border…this is on the NC/SC line… there were billboards advertising it all the way through both states.

South of the Border

South of the Border

The hurried “oh crap, we passed it!” photo doesn’t do it justice….

We finally hit our first destination (St. Simons Island) around 8:00 pm on Thursday. Unfortunately, it was getting dark, so there wasn’t much to see, yet. We went to a restaurant at the marina where the in-laws live and did a hurried catch-up, then we headed down to the boat to get some much-needed sleep. Spending the night on the boat was a first for me.

The next morning, Ben’s dad made us a salmon, spinach and feta scramble for breakfast, then we headed out to explore the island. What a beautiful place!

Again, I didn’t take a lot of photos, but here are a few….

I don't know why, but I chuckled at this sign...

I don’t know why, but I chuckled at this sign…

Exploring...

Exploring…

Live Oak Trees...

Live Oak Trees and Farmer Ben…

A better view...

A better view…

One last picture before hitting the road again!

One last picture before hitting the road again!

It was a quick trip, but it was nice to catch up and spend some time with family. After some more exploring and a huge lunch at Bob & Janet’s favorite Thai restaurant, FB and I headed north to Mount Pleasant.

I was blown away by how pretty it was…not that I don’t love the scenery up here (hello, Lake Champlain and the Adirondacks!), but it was a nice change.

Again… I didn’t take a lot of pictures. Fail on my part .

We checked into our hotel around 6pm on Friday. I have to say, I was pretty impressed with our room.

We planned on having a date night but I got one of the worst headaches I’ve had in a long time and, as a result, wasn’t up to doing much… so we hit up the local Whole Foods (Farmer Ben picked out a local beer to try) and a family-owned Barbecue place for takeout. Can I tell you that I love southern Barbecue?! So good! We spent the night in our hotel room, watching crazy food/restaurant shows and pigging out on barbecue…I’m okay with that.

After breakfast on Saturday, we wanted to do some exploring in Charleston/the surrounding area. After some debate, we ended up driving out to the Firefly distillery to do some tastings. Can you say “great decision?!”

Here's what I tried...

Here’s what I tried…

We picked up bottles of the Southern Lemonade Vokda, Mint Sweet Tea and the Chocolate Pecan Pie Liqueur. So good… I’m planning on making a chocolate cake with the liqueur instead of my usual, Kahlua.

There was also a winery on site, so we meandered over to the tasting room.

IMG_20131012_121304_781

Grapes

Grapes

The wine wasn’t bad, but I have to say, I’ve had better. This was my first time trying wine made from Muscadine grapes and it was a bit different than what I’m used to. We ended up leaving with a bottle of red and a bottle of white that we both enjoyed.

After the tastings, we headed back into Charleston to check out King Street. Once we found a parking spot, we headed over to the Farmers’ Market. It was huge and it took a lot of self-restraint to not buy one of everything. We settled on some amazing dill pickles and pickled beets.

After the market, we scoped out some of the shops on King Street and then popped into one of the many restaurants for lunch… guess what we had….

Barbecue Tacos.... sold.

Barbecue Tacos…. sold.

Seeing how we were in South Carolina, we had to indulge in some more Barbecue…so we settled on some brisket tacos to shake things up. I had fried green tomatoes with mine…Ben had Mac & Cheese.

We perused a few more stores…

Farmer Ben in his element.

Farmer Ben in his element.

And then headed back to our hotel to relax and get ready for Sara’s wedding. I was so excited to see the bride–she was my roommate when I studied abroad in Sevilla, and I decided to wear some earrings I bought on the street in her honor.

I'm really bad at Selfies...

I’m really bad at Selfies…

The venue was beautiful. Fun Fact: People actually camp out in order to wait in line to book a wedding date. I could see why….

Again, I failed at taking pictures, but here are a few of what I did take….

Before the ceremony....

Before the ceremony….

Ceremony site.

Ceremony site.

Cocktail hour/next to the ceremony site.

Cocktail hour/next to the ceremony site.

IMG_20131012_175859_655

Enjoying the beautiful night.

Enjoying the beautiful night.

I could not get enough of this view!

I could not get enough of this view!

After the cocktail hour we headed inside for one of the best wedding meals I have ever tasted (besides our own…haha!)

Guess what we had! More barbecue!
image

I absolutely loved the ceilings/chandeliers!

IMG_20131012_190242_879

And can I add… who goes to a wedding and takes pictures of the food and not the bride?! Yup… this girl.

Luckily, I got a photo op at brunch the next day… please excuse my gross appearance!
image

After brunch, Farmer Ben and I hit the road and headed for DC.

Luckily, the amazing Liz was gracious enough to let us crash at her place for the night. We met at the Dogwood Tavern in Falls Church… one of my favorite places to go when I lived in the area.

Not only did we get to spend time with Liz, but Ben finally got to meet my good friend Natasha and her manfriend.

Again, please excuse my gross appearance…and alien eyes.
image
Farmer Ben and I hit the road early on Monday morning.

Although we enjoyed being away, we were eager to get home.

Anyway, as you can see we had a great trip. I couldn’t have asked for a better partner in crime.

Road trips, yes or no?! Favorite state to visit?! What do you eat on the road?!

Leave a Reply

