Real Talk: Sworkit Review And {Giveaway-CLOSED}!

UPDATE: The winners of the giveaway are Liz, Vanessa, Jessica and Chelsea. Congratulations!  please contact me to claim your prize!!!

Hi Friends!

Hope you’re having a great week so far!

I’m super excited because I discovered a new fitness app.

If you’re anything like me, once the weather turns colder and the days get shorter, getting outside to workout is really difficult. Why? Because motivation disappears. I’d rather be reading a book, curled up under the blankets and wearing my giant XL sweats than venturing outside in a pair of running tights and a moisture-wicking base layer… and let’s be honest, I don’t have the cash for a gym membership right now.

For example, on Saturday, I planned on running. I really did… but it was my first REAL day off in I don’t even know how long and, well… I didn’t feel like doing a damn thing. I managed to venture out to drive the hubby to work, but then I went directly home, popped in a movie and got sucked into being a bum. I know I’m not the only one this happens to.

Anyway, it got to be 4:13 pm and I realized that my plan to get out and run was not going to happen as daylight was quickly fading (and can we talk about how windy it was?!). So, instead of putting on my reflective gear and head lamp, I searched for an alternative.

I found Sworkit.

SworkitRectangleBanner

I downloaded the free version and opted for the 20 minute “anything goes” workout. Before I knew it, I was doing burpees, shoulder clap push-ups (excuse me?!), side planks, tricep dips and a variety of other exercises I probably wouldn’t have thought of doing on my own in that short of time. And I was so glad that I did them.

After m first Sworkit

After my first Sworkit

The great thing about this app is that it does the thinking for you. Each exercise is 30 seconds. If you need it, there is a short how-to video (I needed this for a couple of the exercises). 30 seconds of rest is also incorporated every few minutes. And if it a two-sided exercise (like a side plank), it will tell you when to switch sides. So, basically, you start the workout and let Sworkit do the thinking–and the counting–for you.

image1

It’s also easy to mix it up. You choose the workout length (anywhere from 5 to 60 minutes) what type of circuit you’d like to do (strength, cardio, yoga) and what areas you’d like to work (arms, legs, core, anything goes, boot camp, full body stretch, etc.). You can also customize workouts.

Here is an explanation directly from the Sworkit Website:

What is it?
Sworkit builds randomized circuit training workouts that you can do anywhere. You just choose which part of your body you want to work on and how long you have to work out, and Sworkit takes care of the rest. By providing an actual workout and taking you through the motions, you don’t have to do any other planning or have any extra equipment.
Why Sworkit?
We all have the desire to take care of ourselves and we know that we need fitness to stay healthy. But it’s easy to come up with excuses: “I don’t have the time”. “I don’t like gyms”. “I don’t want to buy new equipment”. “I get bored too easily”. “I travel for work”. “I don’t know where to start”. Sworkit is here to make sure that none of these excuses apply and we can all get a simple workout in whenever we want.
What’s with the randomization?
Workouts can be boring or they can be fun. The reason Sworkit employs randomization is to give the user a new experience every time they workout. This allows for more motivated sessions and provides excitement, and sometimes even pain. Pain is good.
Why circuit training?
Circuit training has been proven to provide highly efficient workouts at a fast pace. Sworkit allows you to choose the total amount of time you want to work out and provides you with the proper exercise timing, rest, and transitions.

Another plus? It syncs with myfitnesspal. I love love love this!

The Pro version has a few more options to choose from, saves your customized workouts and saves your stats (weight, daily/weekly goals, etc.).

iPhone-Pro-Settings

I downloaded the app on Saturday and have done a variety of workouts ranging from a few five minute workouts, to a 20 minute workout. I tried to mix it up to get a complete picture of what the app has to offer. And I was not disappointed. Each sworkit left me feeling accomplished. If I wasn’t sure how to do something, the how-to videos were short and sweet.

On Sunday I did three of the five-minute workouts. Last night, I did two of the ten-minute workouts. The possibilities are endless!

Post ab and back strength sworkits.

Post ab and back strength sworkits.

The most exciting part about finding this app? I can share it with you!

After my first sworkit, I tweeted about my experience and was very surprised to receive an email from the creator, Ryan. He informed me that there is even more customization coming out in December-I can’t wait to see what’s next!

He also thanked me for tweeting, AND gave me some codes to share for a free upgrade to the pro version!

How nice is that?!

So, after checking with Ryan,  I decided to share the free upgrade to Sworkit Pro with a few of you lucky readers. I have 4 Pro upgrades to give away!

Here’s How to Enter 

  • Check out the Sworkit Exercise List and leave me a comment, telling me which exercise listed is your favorite OR if there is one you’d like to be added.
  • In the same comment answer the following question: What is your biggest excuse for not exercising?

All comments must be received by Thursday, November 8 at 11:30 pm. Winners will be picked at random.

I will announce all 4 winners on Friday, November 9, 2013.

Sworkit is available for iphone and Android. Download via the App Store or Google Play.

  • As with any new workout, please consult a physician before starting a fitness regimen and be smart.
  • Disclaimer: I received a free upgrade to Sworkit Pro, HOWEVER I was not compensated to write this review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.  
10 Comments on “Real Talk: Sworkit Review And {Giveaway-CLOSED}!”

  1. Liz says:

    (1) Quadricep Stretch is by far my favorite.
    (2) My biggest excuse to not exercise is Law School…

    Miss you ❤

  2. Vanessa says:

    1.) Abdominal crunch….I really want to focus on my core latly…it needs it
    2,) Challenge is always going to work random schedule so no set time for exercise…lazy

    • I hear ya there…. a strong core improves your overall mechanics so much! So important! And yes, working random hours is definitely tough, you really have to be on top of scheduling your workouts! I don’t know how many times I’ve had to do the 10 pm run because I couldn’t fit in a daylight run.

  3. Jessica Riley says:

    My favorite new exercise is burpees. I use a small medicine ball to raise above me and balance on during the kickback. Gives the exercise a kick in the rear end. I wish they listed a shin stretch though… I have yet to find a good way to prevent shin splints with my running.
    Biggest excuse: I’m in a relationship with my couch and t.v. and it’s less effort than my relationship with the gym. (And as soon as it dipped below 45 degrees I retreated indoors to workout – Planet Fitness rocks!) Even worse then NOT going through is the recent habit I got in: going for a short time for a half-a$$ workout. Slacking doesn’t produce results right?

    • Haha! I totally hear that! Burpees are amazing–Using a medicine ball sounds pretty bad-ass! As for the shin splints, compression socks (and you can usually find a pretty awesome discount code for Pro-Compression online) are a miracle. That and icing-20 min on, 20 min off. If possible, try to run on a softer surface… And I hear you on the slacking. I was really surprised with this app–I did 20 minutes and I was a sweaty mess.

      • Jessica Riley says:

        I have compression socks but do you mean tall ones? Icing is such a pain after 3 months of it! Lol
        I’m all-over sore from the medicine ball burpees..gonna try my first sworkout tomorrow! Wish me luck haha

      • Yes, check out the ProCompression website, they are pricey but almost always have really good discount codes if you google them…. and they have awesome colors! Also, foam rolling is amazing… I bought my foam roller at TJ Maxx for $15… amazing investment. I will email you a foam rolling tutorial I used…

  4. Chelsea says:

    I have a secret love for planks. They’re so challenging, but I always feel so accomplished when I’m done. The Alternating pushup plank sounds really interesting too. Pushups are something I really need to work on more.
    My biggest excuse for not working out is schedule, which generally translates to just not feeling like it. It can be so challenging to get out there, but once I’m at the gym or running I’m good to go.


Leave a Reply

