Currently: Bruises, Beardless Ben and Race Planning

Hi Friends!

Hope you’re having a great week! I’m really looking forward to baking cookies with a bunch of teenagers who are way cooler than me this evening. It’s pretty much the highlight of my week…oh, and hanging out with Farmer Ben.

So what else have I been up to?

-I worked a retirement party this weekend for job number 2. While I was carrying a whole pan of ziti out of the kitchen, the swinging door came back and crashed into me. The pan bounced off my thigh and went crashing to the floor, covering my pants in marinara sauce and melted cheese.

Yes, I’m that girl who always drops things and makes giant messes.

-This little mishap left me with a giant bruise on my leg, which I didn’t discover until the next day.  My leg still hurts.

-#elf4health is in full swing. We just started the second round and I have another pretty cool match. Danielle blogs over at Eating Running Living and is a fellow runner. Love this!

I’m loving the challenges this week. I’m most looking forward to Friday-run a mile as fast as you can! I’ve got some big goals for 2014 and this is the perfect way to get establish a baseline. Not that I need the challenge to do that, but it helps.

-Farmer Ben finally shaved his beard! This makes me incredibly happy. Don’t get me wrong, the man looks good with a beard, I just really like his face.

-The hubs is also almost fully recovered from getting his wisdom teeth out.

-It’s *almost* that time of year where I start devoting way too much to race planning. Strides for James is coming back for its second year in May 2014 and we have some AMAZING sponsors lined up.

We’re moving to a new location and have a great team of volunteers. I am incredibly excited for our second race.

-The weird part about getting back into race planning is that I’ll probably be re-activating my Facebook account. Not just yet, but eventually. I haven’t used it since the beginning of July, and honestly haven’t really missed it…but it’s one of the biggest ways we reach out to runners…so you’ll probably being seeing my return sometime in the near future (this is partially because I am kind of a control freak when it comes to promoting the race… I admit it.).

-This may be too much info, but I recently got some new underwear from Hanky Panky. They are amazing; super cute, comfortable and made in the USA(!).

No, this is not a sponsored post…I just think they are a great company! Anyway, check them out if you are in the market! They are a little pricier than your standard Hanes 4-pack… but well worth it…and you can find some great sales.

-In other news, you know that cheesecake that I thought I burnt the other day? Turns out it was the best cheesecake I’ve made to date. No big deal.

-I’ll be starting a slightly different version of job number 2 this weekend (new place, same boss). Wish me luck! I’m hoping I make some good tip money because I desperately need to do some Christmas Shopping…and buy new running shoes!

-Lastly, check out this gorgeous salad the hubs made me for lunch. Am I spoiled, or what?!
wpid-IMG_20131211_120601.jpg

What have you been up to lately? Favorite brand of Underwear? Have you ever dropped an entire pan of something? Or worse? Facebook, yes or no?

Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

