Real Talk: Vega Sport Hydrator Review

Happy Saturday Friends!

Just popping in to share my thoughts on this fun little product! Vega Sport Hydrator.

Full Disclosure: I was provided this product by Vega and Fit Approach, for the “Fuel Your Better” Campaign, in exchange for a review. All opinions are my own.

As you know, I run…and I sweat… a lot. As I’ve started running longer distances over the last couple of years, I’ve learned that my body does not do well with just water… I’ve also learned that my stomach doesn’t like a lot of the energy gus and gels on the market (hence my obsession with ENERGYbits). And Gatorade? not my favorite. So, when Fit Approach sent out information on their campaign with Vega, I was excited to try it! Fuel Your Better? Heck yes!

I’ve been reading a lot about Vega and following them on Social Media. I like that they offer a plant-based and natural alternative to the mainstream endurance and nutrition products on the market. Not gonna lie, I am a little obsessed with the Fuel Your Better campaign. Check it out for some serious motivation.

2353-FuelYourBetter-Tag

Anyway, I was sent the Berry Sport Hydrator. I liked that it came in single serve packets. Super easy (just add to 16 oz of water, stir and drink!). I also loved the fun pink color! Not your standard lemon-lime or blue raspberry!

mason jar drink

 

Here is a look at the nutrition label on the hydrator I received.

label

Notice the lack of scary ingredients!

So what exactly is the Electrolyte Hydrator?

From their website: “A natural, alkaline-forming drink mix, free from sugar and artificial sweeteners, Vega Sport Electrolyte Hydrator is formulated with all the essential electrolytes your body needs to stay hydrated during workouts.

With zero calories per serving, Electrolyte Hydrator tastes great, so you can sip it not just during your workout, but throughout the day to:

  • Replenish electrolytes and minerals
  • Enhance metabolism and alkalinity
  • Provide antioxidant protection”

Sounds promising, right?

How did it taste?

I LOVED that it wasn’t as sweet as your standard sports drink… It also didn’t stain my lips/clothes and it didn’t have that weird aftertaste.

That being said, it was still a little too sweet for me, but this was easily remedied by adding a little more water than the 16 oz per packet. Honestly, I think I would have preferred the lemon-lime flavor over the berry, but this was still pretty good.

Did it work?

I definitely noticed that I didn’t feel as depleted/drained after a hard workout when I drank this before/during (Also, here is where I tell you that I’ve had this product for a little while, and it took me forever to test it out because life seriously cut into my workout time. No big deal.).

run

I also drank it while I was running around doing errands or at my regular job and it definitely helped me to feel more hydrated.

Would I buy this?

Definitely. I love that there aren’t crazy ingredients and will definitely be adding this to my water for long runs with CamelBak.

Thank you to Vega and Fit Approach for the sample! I would definitely recommend it to my fellow runners looking for a better alternative! #fuelyourbetter

Let’s Chat: Favorite Hydration Product? Flavors?

 

Leave a Reply

