Confessions: A Hiatus Explained

Oh Hi!

I’ve been meaning to write this post for some time, but I haven’t been sure what to say.

You probably noticed that I briefly disappeared from this little corner of the internet (And by “briefly,” I mean a two month hiatus) and when I came back, I made no mention of said disappearance. It may seem strange because I blog about my life, but in “the real world,” I am actually a pretty private person.  

That being said, the reason for the hiatus is this; Ben and I had a lot to deal with and I wasn’t ready to discuss it, especially not in this space…but, because I am big on being open and honest (at least on the internet), I owe you an explanation.

Long story short, Farmer Ben and I left the restaurant. It was a great opportunity and learning experience, but it turns out, it was not the right place for us. We wish everyone there the very best.

While I still had my regular job, Farmer Ben started job-hunting.

Not gonna lie, parts of the last two months were extremely stressful, but it was also a time where God forced us to slow down, deal with some things and take care of ourselves. We were both completely burnt out, over-worked and not living to the fullest extent (or at all). So, God stepped in. During this time, we said “no” to a lot of things (including blogging). Some of them were really difficult to give up, but it was for the best.

It was a period of prayer, re-evaluating our priorities and soul-searching.

I must add, God took amazing care of us! It is crazy how many “God-things,” occurred. Perhaps the biggest area was in our finances. Yes, we had savings, but money was still tight. However, we always had just enough. We always got a little bit extra at just the right time–without any real explanation. He knows.

Anyway, Ben started working at a different restaurant a few weeks ago. It’s a complete change of pace for him but he is up to the new challenges. So far, he is liking it, especially the schedule!

As for me, for the first time in a long time, I am only working one job. I’ve thought about picking up another job to kill some of my free time (and okay, I do miss the extra money), but honestly, I don’t think that I am supposed to….at least not right now. In the meantime, I’m open to something new. What that is, I’m not sure yet.

So what else have we been up to during this hiatus?

·  We moved into a new place. It’s a cute little mini-house and we love it.
·  We bought some new and new-to-us furniture (my mother is the queen of finding a good deal).
·  We did the Adirondack Ragnar Relay (with minimal training).
·  We took a road trip and attended a good friend’s wedding.
·  We took another road trip and I ran my third half marathon (again, with minimal training).
·  We spent time with family and friends…including some new friends!
·  We read a lot of books (and I started a book club!).
·  We drank a lot of wine.
·  We drank a lot of coffee.
·  We rested.

image

From the wedding we attended

In the end, we’re doing pretty well and are truly blessed.

image

Shereadstruth.com

So, that’s where I’ve been. Let’s catch up, what have you been up to??? 

One Comment on “Confessions: A Hiatus Explained”

  1. […] it’s mostly because my fitness has been a bit all over the place and our life was turned upside down and inside out over the last […]


Leave a Reply

