Friday Five

Good Morning Friends!

It’s the weekend…almost! Tomorrow morning, Farmer Ben and I drive down to White Plains and celebrate my friend Christina’s wedding day! I still have no idea what I’m wearing…but that’s a minor detail, right?

Anyway… I haven’t done a Friday Five in a while, so here is what is all over my brain as of late!

Here we go….

1. Yesterday was an epic mail day; a Healthy Skoop delivery and my Christian Books order! AND Farmer Ben’s anniversary present is out for delivery today… I think I’m more excited than he is!

IMG_20150730_175135_693

Speaking of *Skoop, I am super excited to try Ignite-It’s their new (pre-workout) performance supplement comprised of beets and other superfoods. I got the berry beet variety. It smells like bazooka bubblegum! Check out the ingredient list!

Screen Shot 2015-06-12 at 2.42.59 PM

2. Geo-caching. Have you ever done it? Ben and I went with one of the boys in our youth group and we had SO MUCH FUN! I crack up thinking about how silly we must have looked running around parks, parking lots and random fields trying to find the next cache. I think we’ve found a new hobby. If you’ve never been, you should definitely try it!

IMG_20150722_181127_155

3. This book. (Every Body Matters) 

I’m a huge fan of Gary Thomas. He wrote my favorite marriage book (Sacred Marriage), so when I found out he had written a book on the connection between physical fitness/health and spiritual growth, I knew I wanted to read it. This connection is something that’s been on my mind because it is something that I struggle with. I think I’ve mentioned this, but the stress of the last year, combined with my not being as diligent as I should be, caused me to gain 10+ lbs. So… this hits home.

Our physical health and the responsibility to take care of the bodies we are given is not talked about in most churches. Pastors have a tendency to skim over the importance of physical health–of glorifying our bodies–because it’s uncomfortable to talk about. I’m lucky that the two pastors I work with have a desire to live a healthy lifestyle.

Anyway, I got this yesterday and am already a few chapters in. So far, it’s a great, thought-provoking read… I will do a full review once I finish!

4. Night Running. I had forgotten how much I love running in the dark! It’s been pretty hot and sticky during the day and…well… I’m NOT a morning person, no matter how hard I try. So I’ve been going at out night. It’s still hot and sticky, but there is something exhilarating about running in the dark… it makes me feel so alive! It’s also good practice because it looks like I’ll be doing another Ragnar Relay in the fall!

IMG_20150729_214357_324

5. Summer grilling smoking with Farmer Ben. A brother of a friend owns a farm. We were able to buy six free-range, hormone-free chickens to stick in the freezer. We cooked the first one earlier this week and it was absolutely delicious. Ben did a dry rub and put it in the smoker, along with some corn on the cob, some onions and a panzanella salad. This is probably my favorite time of year food wise…between grilling and produce, you can’t go wrong!

IMG_20150728_194756_495

That’s all for today, Friends! Enjoy your weekend and this beautiful weather!

Let’s chat, what are you loving lately? 

*Full disclosure: I am a Skoop reseller. If you purchase product through my Skoop site, I receive a little bit of money.*

3 Comments on “Friday Five”

  1. usabaker says:

    Good Morning! love the post; so when can I come over for dinner?


Leave a Reply

