The Return of “Gross But Necessary (GBN)”

Hello Friends!

It’s Friday! I don’t know about you, but I am super excited for the weekend. I’m going hiking with a few teenagers tomorrow in a new-to-me spot and am looking forward to exploring!

My nephew is in town visiting and Farmer Ben and I have had such a blast hanging out with him. He’s basically the coolest (and most polite!) 12 year old I have ever met!

If you’re not familiar with my “Gross But Necessary” posts, I started this series while training for my first marathon in order to document my training and hold myself accountable. Not gonna lie, I haven’t done one of these in a long time… I’d like to say it’s because I’ve had so many other fascinating things to talk about, but in all honesty, it’s mostly because my fitness has been a bit all over the place and our life was turned upside down and inside out over the last year.

That being said, I mentioned in my last post that I started reading this book. And I’ll reiterate that I am loving it. From Gary Thomas’ website:

The goal in this pursuit is not sculpting thinner or more athletic-looking bodies. The goal is to cultivate stronger, well-nourished bodies that are primed to become, in the words of the apostle Paul, “instruments for special purposes, made holy, useful to the Master and prepared to do any good work (2 Timothy 2:20-21). ”

IMG_20150731_102133_269

I feel so convicted. See… I pride myself on being active, but over the last few months, I’ve noticed a definite decrease in my activity level and an increase in the number I’m used to seeing on the scale. I’ve had every intention of getting out before the sun and seizing the workout of the day…but it just hasn’t happened. I think it’s a combination of fatigue, lack of motivation and lack of confidence.

Anyway, as a result of my reading and thinking about the goals I set for myself, I’ve decided that there is no time like the present to get moving! And, for the sake of keeping myself accountable, I decided it was time to bring back GBN! Once again, credit for the name goes to my fabulous (and brilliant!) friend, Pato. 

So, let’s get started, shall we?!

Gross But Necessary: August 2-8

Monday-Fail. Farmer Ben and I drove back from the city on Sunday. I was busy at work all day (and by busy, I mean that I got stuck on 1 tiny thing that shouldn’t have taken long but did) and then we went to small group that evening.

Tuesday-Active Rest Day. We ended up going to Vermont for the day and spent some time trying to track down some geocaches (we found 1), wandering around the Ben and Jerry’s factory and sprinting up and down Church St before heading home.

JPEG_20150804_170859_867207935

Wednesday-Work Day. I started my day with a Healthy Skoop smoothie (B-Strong and A-game) and spent the day doing work at the church. This included scraping and painting a garage; moving various sized items, cleaning and reorganizing a storage room and a few other little things. My whole body ached when I got home that night.

IMG_20150806_145106Thursday-Evening Walk. Farmer Ben and I went for a walk around our neighborhood. It was just a hair under 2 miles. Nothing crazy strenuous, but it was nice to get out for some fresh air and have some time to talk.

Friday-4 Morning Miles. I forced myself to ride into work with Farmer Ben and set out for a run before work. I will gladly mention that I am NOT a morning person so this was really tough for me. I’m also not in the best (or even mediocre) running shape at the moment, so this wasn’t pretty. My average pace was about 10:50 (definitely NOT my fastest) but I didn’t stop, so I’ll take it. I used this time to talk to God and to let go of some frustrations I’ve been dealing with. It felt great to push myself and I’m looking forward to doing this more often.

IMG_20150807_080057_993

Saturday-Morning Hike. As I mentioned above, I am going to a new-to-me spot with some teens tomorrow morning and we’ll do an easy hike. I can’t wait!

What did your workouts look like this week? Favorite way to exercise? Let me know if there is anything else you’d like to see in the Return of GBN! 

Leave a Reply

