Gross But Necessary; Making Progress…slowly

Hi Friends!

Not gonna lie… It took a whole lot of swallowing my pride to get through some of my runs this week….It probably doesn’t help that it’s “that time of the month”, so I’ve been a hot mess most of the week (sorry for the overshare! Ha!). No big deal, right?

I was texting one of my girl friends on Tuesday and we were talking about what to do for a run planned later in the week. I definitely said the following:

“Right now, a lot of my runs are finished by sheer stubbornness alone.” 

Her reply was “Those are the best kind!”

This week, I didn’t feel that way. Running 4 miles was a breeze a few months ago and now I struggle through that last mile (or more), even with a drastically slower pace. But I’m stubborn and refuse to stop…even if it means slowing down to a crawl in order to keep from quitting.

Anyway, end my pity party…let’s get started! The beginning of this week was a bust… but I finished strong. Always a process!

Gross But Necessary-August 9-15. 

Sunday: No workout. I had work from 8 am to about 6:30 and then Ben and I had a friend’s family party to attend, followed by dog duty at my mom’s house. Whomp whomp.

Monday: Unless you count a marathon house-cleaning session, more dog duty, work and belly laughs at small group as a workout, I’ve got nothing.

Tuesday: Rest Day? Farmer Ben and I both worked (we normally have Tuesday off together) since we are going out of town this weekend, and my mom came over to do laundry and have dinner… so we spent the evening in.

Wednesday: 4 miles. In the morning(!). I rode into work with Ben this morning, wearing running clothes and lugging a bag with shower stuff and a change of clothes. This forced me to go out and run as I had about 2 hours before I needed to be at work. First steps to making time to work out.

To be honest, I was very unenthusiastic about this run. I stopped and walked twice and it just was NOT fun. I don’t know if I was dehydrated, tired or what… but this wasn’t pretty. And then, I took a freezing cold shower (full disclosure: I didn’t bother washing my hair–too cold!).

IMG_20150812_075815_264

Thursday-A: 2 mile walk. My friend Tina and I went for a walk at lunch to catch up. We kept a brisk pace and it wasn’t disgustingly hot out. We spent most of the time looking at some beautiful houses on the quiet streets behind my workplace. No photo.

Thursday-B: 3 mile trail run. My friend Ashley, Farmer Ben and I hit up the trails at SUNY Plattsburgh. We were only mildly successful at actually staying on the trails but it was good to change things up. I was really pooped after this run (Ashley and Ben are a wee bit faster than me!)

IMG_20150813_180014_261

Friday: 3.11 miles. I did an old favorite for my route and listened to obnoxious girly pop this morning. It was awesome! My legs were tired but I was happy to be running. I’m still not a morning person.

IMG_20150814_075601_038

Saturday: 2-4 Mile Walk/Run? Farmer Ben and I are taking a mini-road trip this weekend so I’m not sure what we’ll do, but we have our running clothes/sneakers with us!

Bonus photo: Look at my sweet ‘do. Gotta love the awkward growing out phase!

IMG_20150814_075623_060

How was your week? Any big plans this weekend? 

Leave a Reply

